Don't Blow Your Top

Don't Blow Your Top



$13.95 $14.99 Save 7% Current price is $13.95, Original price is $14.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This early release from industrial titans KMFDM sounds a little flimsy when compared to the band's pile-driving later work. Recorded in 1988, the music on Don't Blow Your Top naturally sounds a bit dated -- like a combination of early Meat Beat Manifesto, Twitch-era Ministry, and even and the more primitive stuff of Alien Sex Fiend. This early, embryonic lineup of the group, including Sasha Konietzko, En Esch, and Nainz Watts, is still finding its sound here. Decidedly lighter in tone than the classic KMFDM sound of the '90s, Don't Blow Your Top features little of the stuff that would become KMFDM trademarks: sledgehammer guitars, state-of-the-art programming, and politically charged lyrical sloganeering. In fact, most of the tracks on Don't Blow Your Top are little more than primitive drum loops decorated with simple chants and samples; the ideas just don't seem fully developed. Still, it's interesting to see how it all started. A work in progress.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/12/2006
Label: Metropolis Records
UPC: 0782388044028
catalogNumber: 80440
Rank: 68001

Album Credits

Performance Credits

KMFDM   Primary Artist
En Esch   Guitar,Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Sascha Konietzko   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Günter Schulz   Group Member
Raymond Watts   Vocals,Group Member
Sigrid Meyer   Group Member
Blackmail   Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

KMFDM   Contributor
En Esch   Composer,Programming,Producer
Blank Fontana   Engineer
Sascha Konietzko   Composer,Programming,Producer,Re-Equalizer
Adrian Sherwood   Producer
Rick Fisher   Re-Equalizer
Brute   Cover Art
Nai0nz Raymond Watts   Contributor
Raymond Watts   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Svet Am   Composer
Blackmail   Producer
Brutefish   Digital Artwork

Customer Reviews