Don't Mind Control

Don't Mind Control

by Joan of Arc


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


Tim Kinsella's Joan of Arc have always been a free-floating collective of musicians, translating Kinsella's songwriting into musical language with all the tools (and people) they happen to have available at the time of recording. And, as occasionally happens on Joan of Arc records, 2010's Don't Mind Control expands the concept yet further. This one includes 18 different groups performing new songs, the only cord tying them together being kinship with the band at some point. The bands range from likely one-time-only assemblages to more established acts in the Joan of Arc sphere, and making appearances are many of the old familiar names: Ben Vida, Mike Kinsella, Josh Abrams, and Cale Parks. As could be expected, the musical range is wide, from skronky guitar workouts to confessional acoustic songwriting to experimental drones. What ties them together is the apparent goal of Joan of Arc from the beginning: to dispense the widest variety of sounds from the most familial group of musicians in indie rock.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/26/2010
Label: Polyvinyl Records
UPC: 0644110019127
catalogNumber: 191
Rank: 225976

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joan of Arc   Primary Artist
Leroy Bach   Guitar
John Herndon   Drums,Group Member
Dan Bitney   Drums,Group Member
Tim Kinsella   Vocals
Elliot Dicks   Drums
Jeremy Boyle   Guitar,Bass Guitar,MIDI Drums
Mike Kinsella   Group Member
Ryan Rapsys   Bass,Harmonica,Percussion,Drums
Ben Vida   Vocals,Group Member
Victor Villarreal   Guitar
Sam Zurick   Guitar
Jim Baker   Arp 2600,Group Member
Cale Parks   Vocals
Jonathan Van Herik   Bass,Background Vocals
Erik Bocek   Bass
Donny Mahlmeister   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Shelly Steffens   Guitar,Vocals
Theo Katsaounis   Vocals
Elizabeth Remis   Violin,Vocals
Evan Hydzik   Bass,Vocals
Mark Trecka   Organ,Percussion,Vocals,Bells
Ryan Weinstein   Guitar,Keyboards
Joshua Abrams   Acoustic Bass,Group Member
Ben Boye   Piano
Kurt Niesman   Vocals
Scott Shellhammer   Drums

Technical Credits

John McEntire   Engineer
Mark Messing   Engineer
Leroy Bach   Engineer
Elliot Dicks   Engineer
Graeme Gibson   Composer
Ryan Rapsys   Producer,Engineer
Blue Hawaii   Engineer
Liz Payne   Composer,Engineer
Victor Villarreal   Composer
Sam Zurick   Composer
Jeremy Lemos   Composer,Engineer
Cale Parks   Engineer,Instrumentation
Jonathan Van Herik   Composer
Erik Bocek   Composer
Brian Case   Composer
Bobby Burg   Engineer
Nate Kinsella   Composer
TJ Lipple   Engineer
Jamie Carter   Engineer
Matthew Clark   Composer
Emmett Kelly   Instrumentation
Donny Mahlmeister   Composer,Engineer
Shelly Steffens   Engineer
Pillars & Tongues   Arranger,Composer
Paul Koob   Graphic Design
Weinstein   Producer
Mark Trecka   Composer
C.T. Ballentine   Engineer
Todd Mattei   Composer
Slick Conditions   Composer
Joshua Abrams   Engineer,Instrumentation
Frank Gilbert   Engineer
Damon Carruesco   Composer
Mike Usrey   Engineer
Scott Shellhammer   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews