Dream Factor

Dream Factor

by Jack CasadyJack Casady


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Bass player extraordinaire Jack Casady has added his uniquely fat tone and endlessly inventive technique to dozens of remarkable and influential recordings over the last 40 years, first with San Francisco's psychedelic bellwether, Jefferson Airplane, and later as a member of blues band Hot Tuna, in both their acoustic and electric incarnations. Dream Factor is the first release under his own name. Not a solo album in the traditional sense -- the famously reticent Casady is neither singer nor lyricist and only reluctantly steps into the spotlight -- Dream Factor employs a battery of musicians, songwriters, and vocalists to flesh out and add texture to this collection of original country, rock, and blues tunes. Casady pulls out all the stops on "Outside," a rollicking stew of stuttering time changes, false endings, and groaning feedback, set against Warren Haynes's feathery lead guitar. Other highlights include the down-and-dirty, swamp-funk blues "Daddy's Lil' Girl," featuring Ivan Neville on vocals, the hard rocking "Paradise," with vocal and slippery slide guitar by Little Feat's Paul Barrere, and "Sweden," an unsettling tale of Scandinavian ennui that includes Fee Waybill of the Tubes on vocals and a slashing guitar duel between Haynes and Casady's longtime Airplane/Tuna compadre, Jorma Kaukonen. While one might have wished for a more free-form or experimental context to showcase Casady's enormous instrumental talents, this long-awaited solo foray contains an hour's worth of the dazzling musicianship that has made this beloved Rock and Roll Hall of Famer an icon to critics as well as to his multi-generational fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/17/2003
Label: Eagle Records
UPC: 0826992000824
catalogNumber: 20008
Rank: 47900

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jack Casady   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Balalaika
Jorma Kaukonen   Acoustic Guitar
Ivan Neville   Hammond Organ,Vocals,Background Vocals
Paul Barrére   Vocals,Slide Guitar
Fee Waybill   Vocals
Warren Haynes   Guitar
Matt Abts   Percussion,Drums
Steve Gorman   Drums
Greg Hampton   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals
Steffen Presley   Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ
Steve Fister   Rhythm Guitar
Doyle Bramhall   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Jim Brunberg   Mandolin,Vocals,Background Vocals
Jeff Pehrson   Vocals,Background Vocals
Stacy Parrish   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Diana Quine   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Michael Barbiero   Engineer
Jack Casady   Executive Producer
Greg Hampton   Producer
Jeff Tamarkin   Liner Notes
Vinny Cimino   Art Direction
Steve Werbeloh   Engineer
Stacy Parrish   Engineer

Customer Reviews