Dreaming Darkly

Dreaming Darkly

by Caitlin Kittredge

Hardcover

$16.53 $17.99 Save 8% Current price is $16.53, Original price is $17.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17

Overview

This teen gothic mystery novel, perfect for fans of Madeleine Roux and Lisa Maxwell, takes readers to the cold, creepy island of Darkhaven, where a girl with unexplained blackouts grapples with secrets from her dead mother’s past and a legacy of murders that have been committed by her family.

Ivy Bloodgood’s mother is dead, and she should probably be sad about it. But she isn’t. Myra Bloodgood was a manipulative personality who never told the truth—about where she came from, who Ivy’s father was, or why they were living their lives on the run.

Now that Ivy has been sent to the family estate on Darkhaven, an island off the New England coast, she is forced to reckon with her mother’s past. Ivy can tell right away there are long-held family secrets buried within these walls, but when she wakes up from one of her nightmares covered in someone else’s blood, Ivy fears that whatever demons her mother battled while she was alive have come to roost in her own mind.

Scared that she can no longer trust what she sees, Ivy seeks the help of a boy who thinks her episodes are connected to the sordid history of Darkhaven—but what they don’t know might kill them both.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062665621
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/09/2019
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 202,403
Product dimensions: 8.30(w) x 5.40(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Caitlin Kittredge has written several comic books and novels for adults and teens. She spends her time in Massachusetts fixing up her 1881 Victorian house, which she shares with several spoiled cats and a vast collection of geeky ephemera. You can follow her on Twitter @caitkitt.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dreaming Darkly 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
HugsandKissesforBooks 5 months ago
Creepy fun! I thoroughly enjoyed Dreaming Darkly by Caitlin Kittredge! Ivy’s mother recently committed suicide, so she’s going to live on the island of Darkhaven with her Uncle Simon and his housekeeper. Ivy soon learns about the Bloodgood family curse from the only other people living on the island, the Ramsey family. Veronica, the housekeeper, later explains the curse to Ivy. Uncle Simon also tells Ivy about the murders her great grandfather committed. He killed an entire household leaving only one Ramsey family member alive and then his twelve-year-old daughter walked in and saw him covered in blood. Supposedly this curse makes people crazy. Ivy does make a few friends and school isn’t too bad but living in the manor becomes stranger and scarier. Ivy sees skeletons, ghosts and finds a body covered in blood. She almost falls off the cliff but Doyle Ramsey happens to wake her just in time from her sleep walking. I would have liked a little more information about Ivy’s parents and the relationship they had but Dreaming Darkly is spooky fun with all the suspense and creepiness needed to make an edge-of-your-seat read, 5 stars!
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
This sort of synopsis is exactly the sort of thing I love to read so I was all in. I liked Ivy. She’s resilient and tough, but secretly a marshmallow. Doyle and Valerie and Betty were all great secondary characters I loved the (mostly) supportive female relationships. Plot wise, it was okay. It started out strong, but my interest quickly started to fade once I realized that I was more than half way through and nothing had really happened. The explanation slash reveal was sort of lacking; however there were a couple of things that did surprise me. It’s those things made this a 3 star rating instead of 2. Overall, I would have liked a bit more tension and more from the ending, but it was interesting enough to keep me reading. **Huge thanks to Katherine Tegen Books for providing the arc free of charge**