Duke Ellington Swings!: The Music of the Duke

Duke Ellington Swings!: The Music of the Duke


$11.67 $11.99 Save 3% Current price is $11.67, Original price is $11.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Telarc Jazz's contribution to the Ellington centenary was this engaging compilation, all material from the '90s back catalog, with two notable exceptions. As bait for the complete Dave Brubeck collector, they've thrown in a pair of unreleased tracks left over from the Brubeck Quartet's tour of the U.K. in November 1998: a lengthy exploration of "Take The 'A' Train" with a hot solo by tenor Bobby Militello and some polytonal romping by Brubeck and a relaxed solo piano version of Mercer Ellington's "Things Ain't What They Used to Be." Two live tracks with Mel Tormé at his most ingratiating bracket the album ("I'm Gonna Go Fishin'," "It Don't Mean a Thing"), and right in the center is a spiffy Tormé turn at the drums on "Rockin' in Rhythm." The remainder of the tracks are given over to such reliable mainstream stalwarts as Oscar Peterson, the Ray Brown Trio, Jim Hall, Ahmad Jamal, the trio of André Previn, Joe Pass, and Brown and Bobby Short.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/27/1999
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408342929
catalogNumber: 83429

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Brubeck   Piano
Jim Hall   Guitar
Joe Pass   Track Performer
Oscar Peterson   Piano
André Previn   Piano
Bobby Short   Vocals
Mel Tormé   Drums,Vocals
Lorne Lofsky   Guitar
Lewis Nash   Drums
Benny Carter   Track Performer
Ray Brown   Bass
R. Brown   Track Performer
Clark Terry   Trumpet
Martin Drew   Drums
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen   Bass
Ulf Wakenius   Guitar
Dave Brubeck Quartet   Track Performer
Ray Brown Trio   Track Performer
Ahmad Jamal Trio   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Mercer Ellington   Composer
Donald Elfman   Liner Notes
Ted Persons   Composer

Customer Reviews