Durango: April 17-April 30

Durango: April 17-April 30

by The Coal PortersThe Coal Porters


$16.73 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.73, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Coal Porters had a bit of a shaky start in the recording studio after Sid Griffin retooled the group into an acoustic "alt bluegrass" combo, but their third album, Durango, shows this band has clearly turned a corner. The Coal Porters have gone through a number of personnel changes since 2004's How Dark This Earth Will Shine, and that's made for a significantly stronger band; while Griffin's vocals and mandolin and Neil Robert Herd's guitar are still the cornerstone of their arrangements, fiddler Carly Frey's strong but supple style does wonders for the group, while Dick Smith on banjo and Jeff Kazmierski on bass clearly outclass their predecessors in the CP's without calling undo attention to themselves. Griffin's belief in democracy is such that even through he's easily the Coal Porters' best songwriter, he insists on letting his bandmates contribute material for this album, but Herd brings a few solid numbers to the table (in particular "The Squeaky Wheel Gets the Oil" and "One Is Way Too Many"), and Frey presents a fine new arrangement of "Sail Away, Ladies." Griffin's "No More Chains," "Permanent Twilight," and "Lookin' for a Soft Place to Fall" show he's still an ace tunesmith, and the covers of the folk chestnut "Pretty Polly" and Neil Young's "Like a Hurricane" demonstrate the Porters have learned how to shape other people's songs into something that fits them just right. Producer and engineer Ed Stasium has given these sessions a strong, clear sound that's natural and flattering to the musicians while catching the sparks of their instrumental interplay. Some fans wonder when, or if, Griffin will ever pick up an electric guitar and start rocking out again, but Durango shows that he's leading an exciting acoustic band with enough strength and confidence to more than compensate for their lack of amplifiers.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/19/2010
Label: Prima
UPC: 0793962001238
catalogNumber: 23
Rank: 185453

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Coal Porters   Primary Artist
Peter Rowan   Guitar,Vocals,Guest Appearance
Sid Griffin   Harmonica,Mandolin,Autoharp,Vocals,Group Member
Tim O'Brien   Mandolin,Soloist,Guest Appearance
Ed Stasium   Background Vocals,Guest Appearance
Neil Robert Herd   Dobro,Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Carly Frey   Fiddle,Vocals,Group Member
Jeff Kamierski   Group Member
Dick Smith   Banjo,Vocals,Jaw Harp,Group Member

Technical Credits

Peter Rowan   Composer
Neil Young   Composer
Griffin   Arranger
Sid Griffin   Composer
Ed Stasium   Producer,Engineer
Neil Herd   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Carly Frey   Arranger
Frey   Arranger
Amy Cann   Arranger
Herd   Arranger
Dick Smith   Composer

Customer Reviews