Barry Pepper
Director: Russell Mulcahy Cast: Barry Pepper
Barry Pepper
, Elizabeth Mitchell
Elizabeth Mitchell
, J.K. Simmons
J.K. Simmons
Russell Mulcahy

DVD (Special Edition / 2 PACK)

$13.64 $14.99 Save 9% Current price is $13.64, Original price is $14.99. You Save 9%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Barry Pepper stars as stock-car racing legend Dale Earnhardt in this made-for-cable drama. Dale was raised by Ralph Earnhardt (J.K. Simmons), a proud man who worked at a mill to feed and clothe his family but found true satisfaction rebuilding jalopies in his garage and racing them at local events on the weekends. Ralph was a minor legend in Southern stock-car racing, and when Dale dropped out of high school to follow his own passion for racing, he started out in his father's shadow -- and with no illusions about the odds stacked against him. But after more than a decade of struggle, Dale finally began to break into the big leagues in the late '70s, and in time he became the biggest money maker in NASCAR history, tying with the great Richard Petty as the winner of the Winston Cup trophies. But the lessons Dale learned from his father took on a deeper meaning when his own teenage son, Dale Jr. (Chad McCumbee), also decided to take up racing at the age of 16 -- and Dale tried to keep his hot-headed son away from the track. Named for Earnhardt's racing number, 3: The Dale Earnhardt Story debuted on the ESPN cable network on December 11, 2004, and was released on home video shortly afterward.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/13/2012
UPC: 0825452508115
Original Release: 2004
Source: Team Marketing
Sales rank: 16,695

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Barry Pepper Dale Earnhardt
Elizabeth Mitchell Teresa Earnhardt
J.K. Simmons Ralph Earnhardt
Chad McCumbee Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Ron Prather Richard Childress
Nick Searcy Jake Elder
Greg Thompson Darrell Waltrip
Andrea Powell Martha Earnhardt
David Sherrill Humpy Wheeler
Dylan Smith Young Dale
Dave Hager J.D. Stacey
Sallie Hedrick Richard Petty's Blonde
Mike Flippo T. Wayne Robertson
Traci Dinwiddie Connie the Model
Joe Inscoe Darlington Track Preacher
Jonathan Parks Jordan Reporter
James Martin Junior Johnson
Marshall McGee Little Kelly
Teresa Delgado Kelly Earnhardt
Corri English Darryl
Jacob Conger Little Dale Jr.
Lori Beth Edgeman Latane Brown
Frank Glidden Kerry Kay
Brandi Ryans Brenda Gee
Kevin Stillwell Rod Osterland
Matthew Laurance Richmond Track TV Reporter

Technical Credits
Russell Mulcahy Director
Orly Adelson Executive Producer
Michael Baugh Production Designer
James Chressanthis Cinematographer
Robert Eisele Screenwriter
Louis Febre Score Composer
Lynn Raynor Producer

Customer Reviews