A Countess from Hong Kong

A Countess from Hong Kong

Director: Charles Chaplin Cast: Marlon Brando, Sophia Loren, Sydney Chaplin

DVD (Wide Screen)

$14.24 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.24, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 25


Charles Chaplin wrote, directed, and scored this old-fashioned romantic comedy, which proved to be his last film. Wealthy American diplomat Ogden Mears (Marlon Brando) is sailing from Hong Kong to Hawaii, where he hopes to meet and reconcile with his estranged wife Martha (Tippi Hedren). However, while the ship takes on passengers in Hong Kong, a stowaway slips into Mears' suite. Natascha (Sophia Loren) is a White Russian countess who was forced to flee the country following the revolution and ended up in Hong Kong, where she earns a meager living as a dime-a-dance girl in a sleazy ballroom. When Mears discovers that Natascha is an uninvited guest in his quarters, she begs him to help her emigrate to the United States; when he refuses, Natascha tries a new tack, threatening to tell Martha that they've been sharing a stateroom if he doesn't cooperate. Mears grudgingly allows Natascha to stay with him and keep her secret until he can figure out a clever way to get rid of her. Margaret Rutherford has a showy supporting role as an eccentric passenger, and Chaplin gives himself a silent cameo as a bumbling porter (no fewer than four of his children also appear).

Product Details

Release Date: 02/04/2003
UPC: 0025192264726
Original Release: 1967
Rating: G
Source: Universal Studios
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:48:00
Sales rank: 11,395

Special Features

Original theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Marlon Brando Ogden Mears
Sophia Loren Natascha
Sydney Chaplin Harvey Crothers
Tippi Hedren Martha Mears
Patrick Cargill Hudson
Michael Medwin John Felix
Oliver Johnston Clark
John Paul Captain
Angela Scoular Socialite
Margaret Rutherford Miss Gaulswallow
Peter Bartlett Steward
Bill Nagy Crawford
Dilys Laye Saleswoman
Arthur Gross Immigration Officer
Balbina French Maid
Anthony Chin Hawaiians
Burnell Tucker Hotel Receptiontst
Leonard Trolley Purser
Len Lowe Electrician
Marianne Stone Reporter
Carol Cleveland Nurse
Charles Chaplin Old Steward
Geraldine Chaplin Girl

Technical Credits
Charles Chaplin Director,Score Composer,Producer,Screenwriter
Don Ashton Production Designer
Rosemary Burrows Costumes/Costume Designer
Robert Cartwright Art Director
Vernon Dixon Set Decoration/Design
Jerome Epstein Producer
Gordon Hales Editor
Arthur Ibbetson Cinematographer
Lambert Williamson Musical Direction/Supervision

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Dance With a Countess [3:08]
2. The Diplomat's Depression [2:52]
3. Mr. Clark's Friends [6:38]
4. The Stowaway [10:49]
5. Sleeping Arrangements [7:08]
6. The Next Morning [8:03]
7. Meet the Press [3:11]
8. A Talk With Natascha [11:00]
9. Natascha's Night Out [5:30]
10. A Change of Attitude [2:14]
11. Miss Gaulswallow [9:04]
12. Married Before Lunch [6:40]
13. Strange Bedfellows [7:25]
14. The Paper Problem [2:46]
15. Natascha Takes a Dive [1:32]
16. Martha [5:20]
17. Harvey's Wife [3:23]
18. For Appearances' Sake [6:22]
19. I'd Rather Be Happy [2:58]
20. End Titles [1:36]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews