A Cry in the Night

A Cry in the Night

Director: Frank Tuttle Cast: Edmond O'Brien, Brian Donlevy, Natalie Wood


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 15


Natalie Wood plays what was touted as her first "grown up" role in the tense melodrama A Cry in the Night. Based loosely on the Caryl Chessman case, the film showcases Raymond Burr as a psycho who stalks and attacks young couples on Lover's Lane. Overpowering Wood's boyfriend, Burr kidnaps the girl and locks her up in a seedy one-room apartment. Though he barely lays a hand on her, Wood has every reason to be terrified of her captor, who has a disturbing habit of brutally killing small animals. Meanwhile, Wood's police-captain father Edmond O'Brien brusquely ignores all manner of civil liberties as he and fellow officer Brian Donlevy turn the town inside out in search of the girl and her abductor. Carol Veazie appears as Burr's blowsy, dominating mother, while Mary Lawrence offers an interesting characterization as Wood's plain-Jane sister, who is jealous of all the attention showered on her missing sibling. Cry in the Night is a surprisingly lively offering from the normally uninspired director Frank Tuttle.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/26/2016
UPC: 0888574417659
Original Release: 1956
Source: Warner Archives
Time: 1:15:00
Sales rank: 27,692

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Edmond O'Brien Dan Taggart
Brian Donlevy Bates
Natalie Wood Liz Taggart
Raymond Burr Harold Loftus
Richard Anderson Owen Clark
Carol Veazie/Morris Carnovsky Mrs. Loftus
Mary Lawrence Madge
Irene Hervey Helen Taggart
Anthony Caruso Chavez
George Lewis Gerrity
Peter Hanson Dr. Frazee
Tina Carver Marie Holzapple
Herb Vigran Jensen

Technical Credits
Frank Tuttle Director
Malcolm C. Bert Production Designer
George C. Bertholon Producer
Folmar Blangsted Editor
David Buttolph Score Composer
David Dortort Screenwriter
Moss Mabry Costumes/Costume Designer
John F. Seitz Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- A Cry in the Night
1. Chapter 1 [2:35]
2. Chapter 2 [:24]
3. Chapter 3 [2:35]
4. Chapter 4 [4:03]
5. Chapter 5 [4:02]
6. Chapter 6 [4:17]
7. Chapter 7 [2:02]
8. Chapter 8 [3:07]
9. Chapter 9 [2:47]
10. Chapter 10 [2:51]
11. Chapter 11 [3:34]
12. Chapter 12 [3:50]
13. Chapter 13 [4:01]
14. Chapter 14 [4:53]
15. Chapter 15 [4:26]
16. Chapter 16 [4:56]
17. Chapter 17 [2:14]
18. Chapter 18 [3:43]
19. Chapter 19 [4:12]
20. Chapter 20 [3:56]
21. Chapter 21 [3:51]
22. Chapter 22 [2:42]
23. Chapter 23 [:18]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews