American Dream (1990)

American Dream (1990)

Marion Wiesel
Director: Barbara Kopple Cast: Marion Wiesel
Barbara Kopple

DVD (Letterbox)

4 New & Used Starting at $7.49


Barbara Kopple's Academy Award-winning documentary about the human costs of a bitter labor dispute in Minnesota gets a long-overdue release on DVD in an effective if straightforward package. American Dream has been given a letterboxed transfer to disc in the widescreen aspect ratio of 1.85:1, which has also been enhanced for anamorphic playback on 16 x 9 monitors. The image is a bit soft and grainy, owing to the film's 16 mm source materials, but accurately reflects the way the film looked in theaters, and the audio has been mastered in Dolby Digital Stereo. The film is in English, with optional English-language subtitles included for the hearing impaired; no multiple language options have been included. The only bonus feature on this disc is a short documentary on youngsters who were lost in the Nazi Holocaust, Children of the Night; while it's an intelligent and effective piece of work, it's a rather odd extra for this package, since thematically and stylistically it has absolutely nothing in common with American Dream, and no link with the other film beyond the fact that producer Arthur Cohn participated in the making of both. Still, American Dream and Children of the Night are both films well worth seeing, and this disc helps to make them both accessible to a much wider audience, for which films fans should be grateful.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/02/2004
UPC: 0786936232721
Original Release: 0000
Rating: NR
Source: Miramax
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Letterbox]
Sound: [Dolby Digital]
Time: 1:42:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; "Children of the Night," an Arthur Cohn production, with an introduction by Marion Wiesel; Dolby Digital Surround Sound; Widescreen (1.85:1)

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. "Hell of a Mess" [3:42]
2. Hard Times in Hormel [7:42]
3. "Labor Fights!" [7:07]
4. Union Friction [6:56]
5. On the Road [7:13]
6. "Get the Gloves On" [7:29]
7. Negotiations [7:48]
8. "They're Not Givin' In" [5:26]
9. Scabs Incoming [4:37]
10. Calling In the Guard [8:15]
11. Spreading the Picket [6:25]
12. Priorities [7:06]
13. "Setting It" [7:05]
14. Moving On [4:24]
15. End Credits [3:23]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews