American Experience: The Trials of J. Robert Oppenheimer

American Experience: The Trials of J. Robert Oppenheimer

Director: David Grubin Cast: David Strathairn, Campbell Scott, Michael Cumpsty

DVD (Black & White / Wide Screen)

$23.68 $24.99 Save 5% Current price is $23.68, Original price is $24.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 31
7 New & Used Starting at $6.99


The life and legacy of atomic bomb creator J. Robert Oppenheimer serves as the subject of this installment of PBS's American Experience. His name forever bound to the Manhattan Project, America's most famous top-secret initiative, Oppenheimer presided over the assembly of the atomic bomb that helped end World War II. The legacy of the charismatic scientist would soon be tainted, however, by accusations of treason. Why did the country who once hailed Oppenheimer as a national hero suddenly turn their backs on him? Academy Award-nominated actor David Strathairn stars as Oppenheimer in a documentary profile of the man who would ultimately emerge as one of the 20th Century's most important, yet controversial figures.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/24/2009
UPC: 0841887010382
Original Release: 2009
Rating: NR
Source: Pbs (Direct)
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W, Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 2:00:00
Sales rank: 47,894

Special Features

Closed Caption; A behind the scenes featurette; Materials for educators

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- American Experience: The Trials of J. Robert Oppenheimer
1. Introduction [1:13]
2. A Threat to National Security [6:16]
3. Early Years [5:30]
4. Coming Into His Own [8:29]
5. "A Tumultuous Relationship" [6:35]
6. Leading the Laboratory [9:38]
7. A Shadow of Suspicion [11:21]
8. Setbacks and Success [11:07]
9. Controlling the Power [13:40]
10. Russia Gets the Bomb [5:43]
11. "A Weapon of Genocide" [9:11]
12. Building a Case [3:48]
13. The Hearings [8:39]
14. "Devouring Her Own Children" [4:59]
15. Conclusion [3:33]
16. Credits [1:35]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews