Peter Cushing
Director: Roy Ward Baker Cast: Peter Cushing
Peter Cushing
, Britt Ekland
Britt Ekland
, Herbert Lom
Herbert Lom
Roy Ward Baker


$19.29 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.29, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Dark Sky provides another strong entry in their Amicus collection with this DVD edition of Asylum. The high-definition video transfer reflects the film rich, darkly-hued cinematography in high style, delivering an anamorphic, letterboxed image with plenty of depth to its colors and its level of detail. The disc uses the film's original mono mix for its audio and the mix is a solid one, with an appropriately thunderous use of Douglas Gamley's bombastic musical score. In terms of extras, there are theatrical trailers for Asylum and two other Amicus/Dark Sky releases, a featurette about the history of Amicus and a commentary track with director Roy Ward Baker, assistant cameraman Neil Binney and moderator Marcus Hearn. The commentary track is an engaging listen, with Baker and Binney offering plenty of technical info and behind-the-scenes memories while Hearn fills in the gaps and prompts them with questions. The featurette mixes interviews from Baker, producer Max Rosenberg and Freddie Francis (another director who worked with Amicus) to create an amusing thumbnail sketch of the studio's history, complete with some contradictory accounts of certain events that are likely to raise a few eyebrows. The package is rounded out by a nice image gallery, some text biographies and an insert in the disc case that includes some brief liner notes. All in all, this is a quality special edition, especially for the cheap list price, and a must for the film's fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/25/2006
UPC: 0030306811895
Original Release: 1972
Rating: PG
Source: Dark Sky Films
Region Code: 0
Time: 1:29:00
Sales rank: 37,109

Special Features

Commentary by director Roy Ward Baker and cameraman Neil Binney; Featurette: "Inside the Fear Factory"; Cast and crew biographies; Theatrical trailers; Still gallery; Liner notes

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Peter Cushing Smith
Britt Ekland Lucy
Herbert Lom Dr. Byron
Patrick Magee Dr. Rutherford
Robert M. Powell Dr. Martin
Barbara Parkins Bonnie
Barry Morse Bruno
Charlotte Rampling Barbara
Sylvia Syms Ruth
Richard Todd Walter
James Villiers George
Geoffrey Bayldon Max Reynolds
Ann Firbank Anna
John Franklyn-Robbins Stebbins
Megs Jenkins Miss Higgins

Technical Credits
Roy Ward Baker Director
Gustave Berne Executive Producer
Robert Bloch Screenwriter
Norman Bolland Sound/Sound Designer
Denys Coop Cinematographer
Tony Curtis Art Director
Douglas Gamley Score Composer
Max Rosenberg Producer
Milton Subotsky Producer
Peter Tanner Editor
Anthony Waye Asst. Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Asylum
1. Opening Credits [2:50]
2. Welcome to the Asylum [8:30]
3. Two Surprises [4:41]
4. Frozen Fear [13:40]
5. The Weird Tailor [21:07]
6. Lucy Comes to Stay [20:33]
7. Mannequin of Horror [4:44]
8. Wrong Guess [10:09]
9. Evil Doctor [1:05]
10. End Credits [1:26]

Customer Reviews