Big Brother and the Holding Co. With Janis Joplin: Nine Hundred Nights

Big Brother and the Holding Co. With Janis Joplin: Nine Hundred Nights

Peter Albin
Director: Michael Burlingame Cast: Peter Albin
Peter Albin
, Sam Andrew
Sam Andrew
, David Getz
David Getz
Michael Burlingame


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This documentary on Big Brother & the Holding Company -- the San Francisco-based psychedelic rock band best remembered for bringing Janis Joplin to stardom -- has been given a strong presentation for this release on DVD. Big Brother and the Holding Company With Janis Joplin: Nine Hundred Nights has been transferred to disc in the full-frame aspect ratio of 1.33:1. Viewers have a choice of three audio formats: Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital Surround 5.1, and DTS Digital Surround Sound. The narration and interviews are in English, with no multiple language options or subtitles included. A healthy portion of bonus materials have been added for this release, including additional live performances of "Ball and Chain," "Piece of my Heart," and "The Coo Coo"; a rare audio-only recording of the group's arrangement of "Hall of the Mountain King"; a gallery of still photos; a discography; interview outtakes with the members of the group, as well as Lenny Kaye and Ellen Willis; and an interactive timeline of the group's history. This is a quality release which serves its subject matter quite well.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/24/2004
UPC: 0801213004799
Original Release: 2001
Rating: NR
Source: Eagle Rock Ent
Region Code: 1
Sound: [DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound, Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 2:28:00
Sales rank: 3,815

Special Features

Complete performances of "The Coo Coo," "Ball and Chain," and "Piece of My Heart"; Rare audio recording of "Hall of the Mountain King"; Discography; Photo gallery; Biographical timelines; Interview outtakes; Psychedelic treats

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. How the Band Got Its Name [1:30]
2. Opening Title [1:42]
3. "Down on Me" [1:20]
4. The New Psychedelic Scene [2:21]
5. "Blow My Mind" [3:01]
6. Sam Meets Peter [1:23]
7. James Joins Up With Sam and Peter [1:15]
8. David Joins the Band [6:23]
9. Janis Joins Big Brother [2:27]
10. "Ball and Chain" [2:22]
11. The Avalon and the Filmore [1:22]
12. Lightshows [:52]
13. Drugs Everywhere [1:06]
14. "Light Is Faster Than Sound" [2:20]
15. "Combination of the Two," Monterey [6:48]
16. "Ball and Chain," Monterey [4:25]
17. A New Manager, Albert Grossman [:54]
18. Dope, Sex and Cheap Thrills [1:04]
19. "Summertime," in the Recording Studio [1:48]
20. Bad Press, Mounting Tensions [5:00]
21. Generation Club "Comin' Home" [:29]
22. Janis Leaves Big Brother [4:35]
23. "Piece of My Heart" [2:44]
24. End Credits [1:28]

Customer Reviews