Building a Broken Mousetrap

Building a Broken Mousetrap

Director: Jem Cohen Cast: EX
Jem Cohen

DVD (Color / Black & White)

$14.92 $15.99 Save 7% Current price is $14.92, Original price is $15.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Ex are an anarchist musical ensemble from the Netherlands who started out as a ragged punk rock band in 1979. However, over the course of more than a quarter-century, the Ex evolved into a group that still embraced the rabble-rousing political principles of punk, but took in a broad musical palate that includes improvisational music, avant garde noise, ethnic music from around the world and politically-slanted folk music while combining both acoustic and electric instruments (and sometimes expanding into a band comprising twenty players). Collaborating with musicians as celebrated and diverse as Sonic Youth, Tortoise and the Mekons, the Ex are a gifted and thoroughly uncompromising group, and when they came to New York City for a series of shows, filmmaker Jem Cohen brought along a film crew to capture the band's performances on film. Building A Broken Mousetrap is a documentary which combines the Ex's energetic live concert with footage that explores the parallels and contrasts of life in New York City with the band's home base of Amsterdam. Building A Broken Mousetrap was screened in competition at the 2007 Silverdocs Film Festival, where it was shown with Blessed Are The Dreams Of Men, a short subject by Cohen scored by Andy Moor of the Ex.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/29/2008
UPC: 0036172100798
Original Release: 2006
Source: Touch & Go Records
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [B&W, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:02:00
Sales rank: 53,576

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Ex: Building a Broken Mousetrap
1. Intro to Part One [2:32]
2. 3:45 Am [5:08]
3. Henry K. [5:54]
4. Sister [5:42]
5. I.P. Man [10:02]
6. Intro to Part Two [1:50]
7. Confusion Errorist [5:36]
8. The Idunno Law [5:31]
9. Dog Tree [7:55]
10. Theme From Konono [8:28]
11. Credits [2:54]

Customer Reviews