Fernando Fernán Gómez
Director: José Luis Cuerda Cast: Fernando Fernán Gómez
Fernando Fernán Gómez
, Manuel Lozano
Manuel Lozano
, Uxia Blanco
Uxia Blanco
José Luis Cuerda


$8.99 $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Veteran director Jose Luis Cuerda delivered this sensitive portrait of a child coming of age during a tense political situation just before the Spanish Civil War. On his first day of school, frail eight-year-old Moncho (Manuel Lozano) is so terrified by the imposing figure of his teacher Don Gregorio (Fernando Fernan Gomez) that he flees into the nearby woods. In spite of his authoritarian appearance, the schoolmaster proves to be a kind, free-thinking Republican who teaches Moncho the virtues of being good. The boy is soon spending much of his time with the elderly Gregorio in the Galician countryside, admiring such wonders of nature as the tongue of a butterfly. Other people in young Moncho's world include his down-to-earth mother (Uxia Blanco), his Republican father, and his older brother, who plays the saxophone with a group of local musicians. However, when the Fascists roll into town, the boy's life changes forever. La Lengua de las Mariposas was screened at the 1999 San Sebastian Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/2011
UPC: 0031398138396
Original Release: 1999
Source: Miramax Lionsgate
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:37:00

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
0. Chapter Selection
1. Opening/School Jitters [4:24]
2. "Make An Effort With The Boy" [4:24]
3. "God Doesn't Kill" [6:59]
4. Special Brew [4:09]
5. Barking Dog [2:19]
6. Hold It Like a Girl [4:46]
7. Butting Rams [5:06]
8. Little Customers [4:24]
9. Little Customers [5:44]
10. Holy River [4:11]
11. Daddy's Secret [4:44]
12. Hell Does Not Exist [4:09]
13. Going Abroad [2:36]
14. The Wolf And The Wife [2:46]
15. Silent Song [5:58]
16. Journey Of Don Gregorio [2:45]
17. "Be Like A Tilonorrinco" [4:44]
18. Spanish Democracy Dead [3:27]
19. "Long Live The Republic" [2:58]
20. Reds! [3:52]
21. End Credits [4:27]

Customer Reviews