Child's Play

Child's Play

Catherine Hicks
Director: Tom Holland Cast: Catherine Hicks
Catherine Hicks
, Chris Sarandon
Chris Sarandon
, Alex Vincent
Alex Vincent
Tom Holland

DVD (Anniversary Edition / Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Child's Play seems to have been concocted by a parent who went berserk after standing in line for hours on end to purchase a Cabbage Patch doll in the early 1980s. The film opens with serial killer Brad Dourif taking refuge in a doll factory. Dourif is killed by the cops, but not before he has invoked a voodoo curse which transfers his soul into one of the dolls. That particular doll, nicknamed Chuckie, is unwittingly purchased by Catherine Hicks for her son Alex Vincent. Several murders occur shortly thereafter; all evidence points to Alex, who insists that his cherub-faced doll is responsible. Detective Chris Sarandon, the man responsible for Dourif's death, doesn't swallow Alex's story, but he agrees to investigate because he's sweet on Alex's mom. The slasher-flick ending of Child's Play would seem to have settled Chuckie's hash for good and all, but guess again--the film spawned numerous sequels.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/09/2008
UPC: 0883904112242
Original Release: 1988
Rating: R
Source: Mgm (Video & Dvd)
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:27:00
Sales rank: 6,060

Special Features

Closed Caption; Audio commentary with Alex Vincent, Catherine Hicks and "Chucky" designer Kevin Yagher; Audio commentary with producer David Kirschner and screenwriter Don Mancini; Scene specific Chucky commentary; Evil Comes in Small Packages featurette:; The Birth of Chucky; Creating the Horror; Unleashed; Chucky: Building a Nightmare featurette; A Monster Convention featurette; Introducing Chucky: The Making of Child's Play vintage featurette; Still photo gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Catherine Hicks Karen Barclay
Chris Sarandon Det. Mike Norris
Alex Vincent Andy Barclay
Brad Dourif Charles Lee Ray
Dinah Manoff Maggie Peterson
Tommy Swerdlow Jack Santos
Jack Colvin Dr. Ardmore
Juan Ramirez Peddler
Alan Wilder Mr. Criswell
Raymond Oliver Dr. Death
Aaron Osborne Orderly
Ted Liss George
Roslyn Alexander Lucy
Michael Chavez Bellevue Patient
Edan Gross Friendly Chucky/Kid in Animated Commercial
John Franklin Walkabout Chucky
Michael Patrick Carter Kid in Animated Commercial
Ed Gale Chucky
Neil Giuntoli Eddie Caputo

Technical Credits
Tom Holland Director,Screenwriter
Jane Alderman Casting
Shelley Andreas Casting
Apogee, Inc. Special Effects
Sharon Bialy Casting
Robert Latham Brown Production Manager
Bill Butler Cinematographer
Cloudia Set Decoration/Design
Astral Bellevue Pathe Color Cinematographer
Peter Donen Special Effects Supervisor
April Ferry Costumes/Costume Designer
Elliott Geisinger Producer
Michael Green Asst. Director
Richard Helmer Special Effects Supervisor
David Kirschner Producer
John J. Lafia Screenwriter
John Loggia Production Designer
Daniel Lomino Production Designer
Don Mancini Original Story,Screenwriter
Hank Moonjean Producer
Laura Moskowitz Associate Producer
Barrie M. Osborne Executive Producer
Richard Pagano Casting
Roy E. Peterson Editor
Joe Renzetti Score Composer
Scott James Wallace Editor
Edward Warschilka Editor
James E. Webb Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Child's Play
1. Logos/Title/Credits [4:42]
2. Fiery Transference [1:36]
3. "Good Guy"/Breakfast [2:22]
4. Wake Up for Presents [2:26]
5. Buying a "Hot" Doll [1:15]
6. Bossy Boss [:58]
7. "Friend to the End" [:59]
8. News Obsession [4:18]
9. "Night Willies" [4:03]
10. Night Flight [1:00]
11. A Killer's Footprints [4:43]
12. Murder Weapon [1:07]
13. "Chucky's Alive!" [3:28]
14. School Dropouts [2:46]
15. A Gassed Rat [3:12]
16. Little Liar [2:03]
17. Not Battery Powered [2:37]
18. Talk or Burn/Escape [3:00]
19. Doll Bite [1:24]
20. A Bad Part of Town [2:43]
21. Bad Memories [1:12]
22. "Sane & Rational" [1:18]
23. Terrifying Ride [2:31]
24. "Hi, Mikey!" [1:20]
25. New Evidence [1:54]
26. "A Date With Death!" [3:00]
27. "Must Save the Boy!" [1:13]
28. "Don't Leave Me!" [1:02]
29. Electrified Exit [3:02]
30. Where's Andy? [:54]
31. "Batter Up!" [3:04]
32. Evil Incantation [1:53]
33. "The End, Friend!" [2:51]
34. Back & Really Burned [3:28]
35. A New Believer [3:58]
36. End Credits [3:22]

Customer Reviews