Crossing Over

Crossing Over

Director: Wayne Kramer Cast: Harrison Ford, Ashley Judd, Ray Liotta

DVD (Wide Screen)

$6.58 $6.99 Save 6% Current price is $6.58, Original price is $6.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Harrison Ford, Ray Liotta, and Ashley Judd star in Running Scared writer/director Wayne Kramer's harrowing look at life amongst illegal immigrants and the immigration enforcement agents whose job it is to ensure that the U.S. borders remain secure. Every day, a new batch of immigrants comes flooding into Los Angeles in search of the American dream -- and every day the price of that dream rises exponentially. As the desperation of these newcomers continually tests the humanity of Los Angeles immigration enforcement officers, the face of a 21st century L.A. gradually begins to take form.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/2009
UPC: 0796019820264
Original Release: 2009
Rating: R
Source: Weinstein Company
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:53:00
Sales rank: 30,431

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Harrison Ford Max Brogan
Ashley Judd Denise Frankel
Ray Liotta Cole Frankel
Cliff Curtis Hamid Baraheri
Jim Sturgess Gavin Kossef
Alice Braga Mireya Sanchez
Alice Eve Claire Shepard
Justin Chon Yong Kim
Summer Bishil Taslima Jahangir
Melody Khazae Zahra Baraheri
Tammin Sursok Actor
Terence Bernie Hines Actor
Lizzy Caplan Marla

Technical Credits
Wayne Kramer Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Michael Beugg Executive Producer
Kristin M. Burke Costumes/Costume Designer
Arthur Coburn Editor
Toby Corbett Production Designer
Richard L. Fox Asst. Director
Mark Isham Score Composer
Frank Marshall Producer
Anne McCarthy Casting
Brian Ross Musical Direction/Supervision
Jay Scully Casting
Gregg Taylor Co-producer
Greg "Fingers" Taylor Co-producer
Bob Weinstein Executive Producer
Harvey Weinstein Executive Producer
James Whitaker Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Crossing Over
1. Sweatshop Bust [6:38]
2. Gavin's Dream [2:27]
3. A Controversial Speech [5:29]
4. Don't Mistake the Enemy [6:09]
5. Rescuing Mireya's Son [3:12]
6. Claire's Situation [5:34]
7. Taslima Detained [8:27]
8. A Shunning [5:45]
9. The Jewish Faith [3:13]
10. At Risk [2:23]
11. Fallen Angel [:40]
12. Claire's Confession [6:16]
13. New Deal [4:47]
14. A Mitzvah [7:10]
15. The Security Tapes [6:54]
16. Armed Robbery [4:56]
17. The Ceremony [8:16]
18. New Beginnings [9:42]
19. Delivering the News [5:19]
20. End Credits [3:22]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Crossing Over 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Grady1GH More than 1 year ago
Though there have been many films about the horrors faced by illegal immigrants attempting to get into or stay in the US, few films have addressed the issues on both sides of the table as well as CROSSING OVER. This film probably did not do very well in theatrical release because of the very difficult subject matter with which it confronts the audience: few people who go to the movies to escape the realities of life outside elect to be disturbed. CROSSING OVER, as written and directed by Wayne Kramer, forces us to learn just how treacherous the matter of immigration is on every level - from the border incidents, to document fraud, to worksite enforcement/raiding, to the concept of asylum, to naturalization, the green card process, the problematic office of counter terrorism, and finally to the basic cultural clashes that pit compassionate law officers against red neck raider type officers. To absorb the intricately woven aspects of the script, a script that addresses immigration issues dealing with Koreans, Africans, Iranians, Australians, Mexicans, and Jewish/atheist Britishers, the audience must pay close attention lest the subtleties are lost in the swirling nonstop drama. Harrison Ford as the compassionate, burned out immigration officer Max Brogan holds the film together as he attempts to make sense of the various irregularities in every aspect of the immigration process. His partner is Iranian American Hamid (a particularly fine performance by Cliff Curtis) who faces family problems with his American born sister and his father who is on the brink of naturalization - one of the many subplots that involves 'honor killing'. Another man Cole Frankel (Ray Liotta is a smarmy role) reveals another view of a 'bad agent' while his wife Denise (Ashley Judd) fights for the rights of an African orphan held for 23 months awaiting sponsorship. A brave Iranian girl Taslima (Summer Bishil) speaks out for the rights of Muslims to be heard and plunges her family into deportation problems. Among the other subplots are stories about a Korean family whose one son (Justin Chon) is forced into gang warfare, an Australian actress (Alice Eve) who must secure her green card through sexual favors with Cole Frankel, a Mexican mother Mireya (Alice Braga) who is captured during a raid at a workplace and befriended by Max Brogan, and young British musician (Jim Sturgess) who must convince authorities of his 'Jewishness' in order to maintain a job that will result in a green card. Each of these stories represents an aspect of our current dysfunctional system management of immigration. The film does not take sides: it merely presents a smattering of the atrocities and imperfectly managed departments of government that together form a system that is chaotic. Of interest, Sean Penn (listed as being in the cast on this page of requested his small role be cut because of the objections of Iranian-American groups over the use of the 'honor killing' subplot. That may indicate how many people may view this film: the story will either anger or disgust some viewers. But what this very well acted and produced and directed film does is provide windows through which we may more closely examine the tragedies of our current immigration system. Perhaps change will occur once people are informed of the injustices. Grady Harp