Cruel Sea

Cruel Sea

Director: Charles Frend, Alec McCowen Cast: Jack Hawkins, Donald Sinden



In this seagoing military drama set in World War II, Lt. Comdr. Ericson (Jack Hawkins) is made captain of a British corvette, a small escort vessel used to guide and protect convoys traveling through the Atlantic. Ericson had his confidence severely shaken during his last command, in which he lost his ship and most of its men following an attack by a German U-boat. As he leads a new and largely inexperienced crew aboard the H.M.S. Compass Rose, Ericson is once again thrown into a life-and-death dilemma that forces him to choose between destroying an enemy ship and sparing the lives of his own men. The Cruel Sea featured breakthrough early performances from Denholm Elliott and Virginia McKenna, and it was based on a best-selling novel by Nicholas Monsarrat, who stipulated that the film rights could be sold only to a British company.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/17/2006
UPC: 0013131493993
Original Release: 1953
Rating: NR
Source: Starz / Anchor Bay
Region Code: 1
Time: 2:07:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jack Hawkins Lt. Cdr. Ericson
Donald Sinden Lt. Keith Lockhart
John Stratton Sub-Lt. Ferraby
Denholm Elliott Sub-Lt. Morell
Stanley Baker Lt. Bennett
Virginia McKenna Julie Hallam
Bruce Seton Bob Tallow
Liam Redmond Jim Watts
Moira Lister Elaine Morell
June Thorburn Doris Ferraby
Megs Jenkins Glad Tallow
Meredith Edwards Yeoman Wells
Glyn Houston Phillips
Alec McCowen Tonbridge
Leo Phillips Wainwright
Dafydd Havard Signalman Rose
Fred Griffiths Gracey
Laurence Hardy Sellars
Sam Kydd Carslake
John Singer Gray
Barry Steele Broughton
Walter Fitzgerald Warden
Gaston Richer Actor
Anthony Snell Actor
Jack Howard Actor
Harold Jamieson Actor
Warwick Ashton Actor
John Warner Sub-Lt. Baker
Gerard Heinz Polish Captain
Gerik Schjelderup Norweigan Captain
Andrew Cruickshank Scott Brown
Barry Letts Raikes
Harold Goodwin ASDIC Operator
George Curzon Admiral at party
Ronald Simpson R.N. Captain
Don Sharp Lieut.-Commander
Herbert C. Walton The Waiter
Russell Waters Air Raid Warden

Technical Credits
Charles Frend Director
Alec McCowen Director
Eric Ambler Screenwriter
Michael Balcon Executive Producer
Gordon Dines Cinematographer
Anthony Mendleson Costumes/Costume Designer
Jim Morahan Production Designer
Leslie Norman Producer
Syd Pearson Special Effects
Alan Rawsthorne Score Composer
Peter Tanner Editor
Chic Waterson Camera Operator

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Cruel Sea
1. Main Titles [2:14]
2. A Story of Two Ships [5:11]
3. Training [6:07]
4. Stormy Weather [6:18]
5. Drunk On Duty [6:21]
6. Enemy Attack [6:41]
7. The Gibraltar Run [5:51]
8. Contact [10:45]
9. Second Thoughts [6:31]
10. Repairs [6:06]
11. Engaging the U-Boat [10:37]
12. The Party [4:47]
13. Bittersweet Homecoming [10:16]
14. Abandon Ship! [6:23]
15. The Survivors [6:43]
16. Wounds of War [5:13]
17. Something to Live For [2:55]
18. Obsession [7:50]
19. The Final Hunt [8:23]
20. End Credits [1:13]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews