Curtis Mayfield: In Concert

Curtis Mayfield: In Concert

Curtis Mayfield
 Cast: Curtis Mayfield

DVD (Dolby 5.1 / Stereo)

$19.57 $21.99 Save 11% Current price is $19.57, Original price is $21.99. You Save 11%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


One of the most groundbreaking artists in the history of soul music, Curtis Mayfield first rose to fame in the late '50s as a member of the Impressions, who blended gospel-influenced harmonies with the intelligent melodicism of Mayfield's songs, scoring hits with love songs like "Gypsy Woman" as well as politically and socially influenced material such as "People Get Ready." After Mayfield went solo in the early '70s, he found his greatest success with the soundtrack of the film Superfly, featuring hard-edged depictions of urban life such as "Freddie's Dead," "Pusherman," and the title tune. While his popularity waxed and waned, Mayfield remained active as a performer and recording artist up until the summer of 1990, when a lighting rig fell on him during a concert in Brooklyn, NY, leaving him paralyzed from the neck down. While the accident ended Mayfield's career as a live performer, he continued to oversee the operations of his record company, and even released an album of new songs in 1996. Curtis Mayfield: In Concert is a home video release of a live concert Mayfield videotaped for European television in 1990, only a few months before his tragic accident. Along with the above-mentioned songs, Mayfield performs "Move on Up," "We Gotta Have Peace," and four others.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/30/2001
UPC: 0707787650472
Original Release: 1990
Rating: NR
Source: Inakustik
Region Code: 0
Sound: [Dolby Digital, stereo]
Time: 1:00:00
Sales rank: 9,724

Special Features

Interview with the producer; Artist biography; Sound tuning

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
0. Tracklist
1. Superfly [4:05]
2. It's Allright [4:40]
3. Gypsy Woman [4:11]
4. Dobe Down [3:59]
5. Freddie's Dead [5:37]
6. Pusherman [7:25]
7. Billy Jack [6:52]
8. We Gotta Have Peace [5:08]
9. People Get Ready [2:51]
10. Move On Up [7:50]
11. To Be Invisible [3:41]

Customer Reviews