Jean Muir
Director: Archie Mayo Cast: Jean Muir
Jean Muir
, George Brent
George Brent
, Veree Teasdale
Veree Teasdale
Archie Mayo

DVD (Full Frame)



This drama examines the rivalry between a mother and the daughter she is too vain to acknowledge. The mother is a famous actress who does not want her true age to be known. She, therefore, keeps her 19-year old daughter secreted away in a boarding school. The daughter is too old to be concealed. She wants her own life, and she wants her mother to acknowledge her existence. She goes to New York to see her mother. At her mother's house, the young woman encounters her mother's newest suitor. He sees the young girl and falls for her. The mother becomes terribly jealous and tries to thwart the romance. She fails, and the happy young couple get married.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/31/2017
UPC: 0888574460303
Original Release: 1934
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:08:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jean Muir Lois Johnson
George Brent Stuart McAllister
Veree Teasdale Helen Walbridge
Arthur Aylesworth Eph
Joan Wheeler Barbara
Barbara Leonard Margaret
Charles Starrett Russell Gray
John Halliday Austin Stevens
Virginia Hammond Mrs. Gray
Pauline True Secretary
Russell Hopton Chet
Georgia Cooper Jennie
Jane Darwell Actor
William "Wild Bill" Elliott Actor
Gladys Gale Large Woman
Maude Turner Gordon Dowager
Theresa Harris Maid
George Humbert Mario, the Maitre d'
Edward Keane Playgoer
Cornelius Keefe Eager Young Man
Helene Millard Blonde
James Miller Elevator Man
Dennis O'Keefe Party Guest
Kathrun Sheldon Volunteer Worker
Arthur Treacher Butler
Harry Tyler Box-Office Man
Walter Brennan Actor

Technical Credits
Archie Mayo Director
Edward Chodorov Producer
Ernest Haller Cinematographer
John Hughes Art Director
Mary C. McCall Screenwriter
Thomas Pratt Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Desirable
1. Chapter 1 [:54]
2. Chapter 2 [2:43]
3. Chapter 3 [2:42]
4. Chapter 4 [3:38]
5. Chapter 5 [5:38]
6. Chapter 6 [3:31]
7. Chapter 7 [3:48]
8. Chapter 8 [5:09]
9. Chapter 9 [5:21]
10. Chapter 10 [4:41]
11. Chapter 11 [5:51]
12. Chapter 12 [4:11]
13. Chapter 13 [7:04]
14. Chapter 14 [2:57]
15. Chapter 15 [4:47]
16. Chapter 16 [4:00]
17. Chapter 17 [:55]
18. Chapter 18 [:01]

Customer Reviews