Don't Answer the Phone

Don't Answer the Phone

James Westmoreland
Director: Robert Hammer Cast: James Westmoreland
James Westmoreland
, Flo Gerrish
Flo Gerrish
, Ben Frank
Ben Frank
Robert Hammer


$24.12 $29.99 Save 20% Current price is $24.12, Original price is $29.99. You Save 20%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This mix of drama, camp, and brutal violence is anchored by the performance of Nicholas Worth. Worth plays Kurt Smith, a sweaty, balding maniac who strangles women with a stocking, raping and mutilating them during and after death. A Vietnam veteran, Smith prowls the streets of Hollywood posing as a photographer, then sells his violent porn to sleazy smut-peddler Sam (Porky's star Chuck Mitchell). At home, Smith lifts weights and tells off his dead father, whose abuse was obviously one cause of his mania. Sometimes he calls the radio show of psychiatrist Lindsey Gale (Flo Gerrish), posing as a Puerto Rican named Ramon and asking for advice about his headaches. Dedicated cop McCabe (James Westmoreland) has no luck solving the case until Smith murders one of Dr. Gale's patients, in an unforgivably sick scene. The patient (Paula Warner) was molested by her father, which Smith overhears. When he breaks into her house that night, Smith ties her up while cooing, "Daddy loves his little girl," and pouring hot wax on her as she cries into her teddy-bear.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/31/2017
UPC: 0814456020709
Original Release: 1980
Rating: R
Source: Vinegar Syndrome
Time: 1:35:00
Sales rank: 18,088

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
James Westmoreland Lt. Chris McCabe
Flo Gerrish Dr. Lindsay Gale
Ben Frank Sgt. Hatcher
Nicholas Worth Kirk Smith
Stan Haze Adkins
Gary Allen John Feldon
Pamela Jean Bryant Sue Ellen
Ted Chapman Man in Bar
Victor Mojica Actor
Tom Lasswell Actor
Denise Galik Lisa
Jon Greene Policeman
Don Lake Man in Plastic
Chuck Mitchell Sam Gluckman
Susanne Severeid Denise
Chris Wallace Psychic, Von Hammensveld

Technical Credits
Robert Hammer Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Byron Allerd Score Composer
Jan Brodin Sound/Sound Designer
Kathy Cachill Art Director
Kathy Curtis Cahill Production Designer
James L. Carter Cinematographer
Michael Castle Co-producer,Producer,Screenwriter
Joseph Fineman Editor
David R. Osterhout Asst. Director
Michael Towers Executive Producer

Customer Reviews