Matt Damon
Director: Neill Blomkamp Cast: Matt Damon
Matt Damon
, Jodie Foster
Jodie Foster
, Sharlto Copley
Sharlto Copley
Neill Blomkamp

DVD (Wide Screen)

$8.99 $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In a future in which the privileged reside on an Earth-orbiting space station named Elysium and the less fortunate live on the surface of the blighted, overpopulated planet below, one man dares to defy the strict anti-immigration laws that separate the two disparate worlds in order to save all of mankind in this visceral sci-fi action thriller from District 9 director Neill Blomkamp. The year is 2154, and the division between social classes has grown wider than ever before. As the rich enjoy a life of luxury and access to cutting-edge medical technology on Elysium, the rest of the human race contend with poverty, crime, and disease on the surface of planet Earth. Meanwhile, hard-line immigration laws ensure that only those who have been explicitly approved will ever set foot on the elusive paradise in the stars. 36-year-old Max (Matt Damon) lives in an L.A. shantytown and earns his living by working on an Armadyne assembly line. He's had a rough past, but he's struggling to stay on the right side of the law when he realizes that his only hope for survival after being exposed to deadly radiation is to reach Elysium. Should Max succeed, he will strike a major blow for equality in the eyes of his fellow surface dwellers; should he fail, it will mean certain death. In his quest to become the hero who can restore the balance between the rich and the poor, however, Max must first do battle with Elysium's hawkish Secretary of Defense Delacourt (Jodie Foster), who has devoted her entire career to maintaining that division, and whose key enforcer Kruger (Sharlto Copley) is notorious for his brutal tactics in driving out illegals. With the fates of millions hanging in the balance, Max sets his sights on Elysium and never looks back. Alice Braga, Diego Luna, William Fichtner, and Faran Tahir co-star.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/17/2013
UPC: 0043396417236
Original Release: 2013
Rating: R
Source: Sony Pictures
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:49:00
Sales rank: 5,967

Special Features

Engineering utopia: creating a society in the sky; Collaboration: crafting the performances in Elysium

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Matt Damon Max Da Costa
Jodie Foster Secretary Delacourt
Sharlto Copley Kruger
Alice Braga Frey
Diego Luna Julio
Wagner Moura Spider
William Fichtner John Carlyle
Brandon Auret Drake
Josh Blacker Crowe
Emma Tremblay Matilda
Jose Pablo Cantillo Sandro
Maxwell Perry Cotton Young Max
Faran Tahir President Patel
Adrian Holmes Manuel
Jared Keeso Rico
Carly Pope CCB Agent
Ona Grauer CCB Agent
Michael Shanks CCB Agent
Christina Cox CCB Agent
Terry Chen Technician
Catherine Lough Haggquist Representative Burrard
Chris Humphreys Representative Penny
Yolanda Abbud Nun
Valentina Giron Young Frey
Mike Mitchell Foreman
Chris Shields Dr. Faziel
Johnny Cicco Vincente
Josefina Mora Old Woman
Adrian Vazquez Carlo
Derek Gilroy Pablo
Jose Moises Thug
Inaqui Goci Bus Station Gangster
Christian Vazquez Gangster
Alejandro Rae Gangster
Mario Perez Spider's Techie
Alejandro Belmonte Spider's Techie
Emiliano Menchaca Street Child
Francisco Aguilar Street Child
Patricia Benoit Street Child
Alexander Raymond Street Child
Tracy Waterhouse Nurse
Sofia Sisniega Carlyle's Secretary
Kendall Cross Armadyne Investor
Julian Christopher Armadyne Investor
Simon Leung Armadyne Investor
Robert Gauvin Party Guest
Dominika Zybko Party Guest
Fraser Aitcheson Spider's Ship Rider
Taras Kostyuk Spider's Ship Smuggler
Angelina Pratap Illegal Daughter
Jackson Berlin HS Agent
Hoa Nguyen Bao Huynh Supermodel
Dalias Blake Father
Amari Lewis Daughter
Carlos Leal Moreno Bouncer
Mike Carpenter Android
Heath Stevenson Android
Lloyd Adams Android
Cody Lauden Android

Technical Credits
Neill Blomkamp Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Ryan Amon Score Composer
Sue Baden-Powell Executive Producer
Eric Bates Animator
Denny Bigras Animator
Patricia Binga Animator
James Bitonti Asst. Director
Bill Block Producer
Nancy Brown Set Decoration/Design
Victoria Burkhart Associate Producer
Mira Caveno Set Decoration/Design
David Clarke Set Decoration/Design
Julian Clarke Editor
Javier Clave Asst. Director
Stephanie Correa Asst. Director
Ross Dempster Art Director
Candice Elzinga Casting
Image Engine Animator
Earl Fast Animator
April Ferry Costumes/Costume Designer
Liz Gallacher Musical Direction/Supervision
Dean Heselden Camera Operator
Michelle Hreshak Makeup
Philip Ivey Production Designer
Simon Kinberg Producer
David Klohn Asst. Director
Francine Maisler Casting
Adam Marisett Animator
Hayley Miller Makeup
Trent Opaloch Cinematographer
Stacy Perskie Co-producer
Danielle Prestidge Production Manager
Simon Raby Cinematographer
Alejandro Reza Casting
Hannia Robledo Art Director
Kim Savory Animator
Lee Smith Editor
Lee Smith Editor
Jenn Taylor Animator
Mary Anne Waterhouse Production Manager
Sebastian Weber Animator
Dave Whitehead Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Elysium
1. Chapter 1 [7:01]
2. Chapter 2 [4:56]
3. Chapter 3 [7:27]
4. Chapter 4 [6:06]
5. Chapter 5 [4:27]
6. Chapter 6 [9:19]
7. Chapter 7 [18:20]
8. Chapter 8 [3:15]
9. Chapter 9 [3:10]
10. Chapter 10 [2:59]
11. Chapter 11 [3:24]
12. Chapter 12 [2:49]
13. Chapter 13 [3:36]
14. Chapter 14 [5:49]
15. Chapter 15 [7:29]
16. Chapter 16 [5:24]
17. Chapter 17 [13:47]

Customer Reviews