Finding Fela!

Finding Fela!

Fela Kuti
Director: Alex Gibney Cast: Fela Kuti
Fela Kuti
, Yeni Kuti
Yeni Kuti
, Seun Kuti
Seun Kuti
Alex Gibney


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Award-winning documentary filmmaker Alex Gibney turns his attention to the life and career of Fela Anikulapo Kuti, one of the first world-music superstars, who used his art in order to protest the harmful leadership controlling Nigeria. In Finding Fela!, Gibney explains how the musician's message reached around the globe, and how he has stood as an example to artists working in other dictatorships.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/13/2015
UPC: 0738329156022
Original Release: 2014
Rating: NR
Source: Kino Lorber
Region Code: 1
Time: 2:00:00
Sales rank: 51,793

Special Features

Eight extended interviews; Femi Kuti sax solo at the new Africa shrine; Podcast interview with director Alex Gibney; Stills gallery/trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Fela Kuti Actor
Yeni Kuti Interviewee
Seun Kuti Interviewee
Bill T. Jones Interviewee
Jim Lewis Interviewee
Rikki Stein Interviewee
Lemi Ghariokwu Interviewee
Kewe Anikulapo-Kuti Interviewee
Michael Veal Interviewee
Sandra Izsadore Interviewee
John Darnton Interviewee
Dele Sosimi Interviewee
J.K. Braimah Interviewee
Francis Kertekian Interviewee
Tony Allen Interviewee
Carlos Moore Interviewee
Okwechime Abdul Interviewee
Ogugua Iwelu Interviewee
Ahmir "?uestlove" Thompson Interviewee
Paul McCartney Interviewee

Technical Credits
Alex Gibney Director,Producer
Maryse Alberti Cinematographer
Fela Anikulapo-Kuti Score Composer
Alison Ellwood Co-producer
Jack Gulick Producer
Stephen Hendel Executive Producer
Ruth Hendel Executive Producer
Lindy Jankura Editor
Tony Volante Sound Mixer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Finding Fela!
1. A Revolutionary Voice [15:41]
2. Lagos, Nigeria [6:57]
3. The Early Years [13:47]
4. Afrobeat [12:40]
5. The Entourage [8:13]
6. Militant Zombies [10:06]
7. Brutalized [10:25]
8. Musical Shift [11:20]
9. Imprisoned [15:09]
10. For Ever Lives Africa [12:36]
11. Chapter 11 [3:02]

Customer Reviews