Frankenstein: The True Story

Frankenstein: The True Story

Tom Baker
Director: Jack Smight Cast: Tom Baker
Tom Baker
, John Gielgud
John Gielgud
, Clarissa Kaye
Clarissa Kaye
Jack Smight

DVD (Full Frame)

$9.40 $9.99 Save 6% Current price is $9.4, Original price is $9.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, February 28
21 New & Used Starting at $2.69


Per its title, Jack Smight's Frankenstein: The True Story, strives for greater faithfulness to Mary Shelley's novel than prior versions. Thus, as in the book, Dr. Frankenstein's (Leonard Whiting) creation is no monster, but a handsome young man of high intelligence (Michael Sarrazin). In fact, the doctor and his creature are the best of friends until the latter's body begins to deteriorate. This sends the creature over the bend into insanity, prompting Frankenstein -- with the help of his evil mentor, Dr. Polidori (James Mason), a character not in the Shelley novel -- to try, try again to create a viable synthetic human. The film ends more or less as the novel does, with the outcast Frankenstein and his creature expiring in the frozen wastes of Antarctica. Adapted for television by Christopher Isherwood, Frankenstein: The True Story was originally telecast in two parts on November 30 and December 1, 1973.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/26/2006
UPC: 0025193168528
Original Release: 1973
Rating: NR
Source: Universal Studios
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 3:03:00
Sales rank: 19,945

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Tom Baker Sea Captain
John Gielgud Chief Constable (Police)
Clarissa Kaye Actor
Margaret Leighton Lady Fanshawe
James Mason Dr. Polidori
Michael Sarrazin The Creature
Leonard Whiting Dr. Victor Frankenstein
David McCallum Dr. Henry Clerval
Agnes Moorehead Mrs Blair
Nicola Pagett Elizabeth
Ralph Richardson Mr Lacey
Jane Seymour Agatha/Prima
Michael Wilding Sir Richard Fanshawe

Technical Credits
Jack Smight Director
Christopher Isherwood Screenwriter
Gil Melle Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Frankenstein: The True Story
1. Preview/Main Titles [9:26]
2. A Death in the Family [3:53]
3. Bedside Manner [9:46]
4. Living Flesh [6:59]
5. Unexpected Visitor [9:05]
6. Scientific Phenomenon [9:18]
7. A New Experiment [8:35]
8. Guest of Honor [11:55]
9. The Hand of Polldorl [10:16]
10. "Figaro" [5:20]
11. Falling Apart [7:26]
12. Hide and Seek [13:18]
13. Reversed Process [12:09]
14. The Creation of Eve [8:26]
15. Excellent Imitation [12:07]
16. A Deep Sleep [7:08]
17. Pupper on a String [9:45]
18. Delusions of Madness [4:01]
19. Unpleasant Scene [10:38]
20. Storm at Sea [6:56]
21. Uncharted Wilderness [7:26]
22. Ene Titles [1:12]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Frankenstein: The True Story 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One can "feel" for the "monster" as the natural decay processes take over...great version of the story!!