Gangster's Boy

Gangster's Boy

Director: William Nigh Cast: Jackie Cooper, Lucy Gilman, Robert Warwick


2 New & Used Starting at $7.34


Too old to play the cute MGM urchin any longer, 16-year-old Jackie Cooper signed with Monogram for a group of above-average programmers. Gangster's Boy was the second of this series, all of which followed a predestined pattern of shame and redemption. Young Cooper is a high-school honor student who is revealed to be the son of an ex-gangster (Robert Warwick). Shunned by former friends, Cooper nonetheless stands by his dad, defending him to a hostile community. Father and son eventually prevail over provincial bigotry, though Cooper seems happier about the whole thing than the ever-sullen Warwick (an actor better suited to the role of a business executive or Shakespearean ham). Sentimental to the nth degree, Gangster's Boy was a success, prompting a third Cooper Monogram "special" with a similar plotline, Streets of New York (39).

Product Details

Release Date: 07/26/2011
UPC: 0089218660398
Original Release: 1938
Source: Alpha Video
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:15:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Cooper Larry Kelly
Lucy Gilman Julie Davis
Robert Warwick Tim "Knuckles" Kelly
Louise Lorimer Molly Kelly
Tommy Wonder Bill Davis
Selmar Jackson Judge Roger Davis
Betty Blythe Mrs. Davis
Bobby Stone Salvatore
Bradley Metcalfe Arthur
Hooper Atchley Sammy Trip
Joe Devlin Cop
Herbert Evans Stevens, the Butler
Byron Foulger Secretary
Jack Gardner Photographer
Huntly Gordon Principal Benson
William Gould District Attorney Edward Jameson
Harry Harvey Reporter
Jack Kennedy Sergeant
Edward Peil Editor
Buddy Pepper Boy

Technical Credits
William Nigh Director
Robert Hardy Andrews Screenwriter
Clay Boland Songwriter
Karl Brown Screenwriter
Edward Kay Songwriter
William T. Lackey Producer
Abe Meyer Score Composer,Musical Direction/Supervision
Harry Neumann Cinematographer
Beckley Reichne Songwriter
Russell Schoengarth Editor
Tommy Wonder Choreography

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Gangster's Boy
1. Chapter 1 [1:42]
2. Chapter 2 [11:39]
3. Chapter 3 [11:29]
4. Chapter 4 [13:11]
5. Chapter 5 [12:55]
6. Chapter 6 [12:35]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews