God's Little Acre

God's Little Acre

Robert Ryan
Director: William Keighley, Anthony Mann Cast: Robert Ryan
Robert Ryan
, Aldo Ray
Aldo Ray
William Keighley, Anthony Mann,


$18.19 $19.99 Save 9% Current price is $18.19, Original price is $19.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Erskine Caldwell's steamy novel God's Little Acre was given a film adaptation in 1958. A heavily grayed-up Robert Ryan plays Ty Ty Walden, the patriarch of a slovenly backwoods family. As Ty Ty digs around his farm in search of gold (which he has yet to find), his son in law Bill Thompson (Aldo Ray) carries on an adulterous affair with the sluttish Griselda (Tina Louise). Comedy relief is provided by the dimwitted Pluto (Buddy Hackett). Others in the cast include future TV stars Jack Lord as Buck Walden and Michael Landon as Ty Ty's albino farmhand. A flop when first released, God's Little Acre made back its cost on the TV rental circuit; today, it is in the public domain, available to everyone, even the "under 18s" who were prohibited from seeing it back in 1958.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/30/2013
UPC: 0887090064309
Original Release: 1958
Rating: NR
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:58:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Robert Ryan Ty Ty Walden
Aldo Ray Will Thompson
Tina Louise Griselda
Buddy Hackett Pluto Swint
Jack Lord Buck Walden
Fay Spain Darlin'Jill
Vic Morrow Shaw Walden
Helen Westcott Rosamund
Lance Fuller Jim Leslie
Rex Ingram Uncle Felix
Michael Landon Dave Lawson
Russell Collins Claude
Janet Brandt Actor
Davis Roberts Actor

Technical Credits
William Keighley Director
Anthony Mann Director
J. Henry Adams Sound Editor
Elmer Bernstein Score Composer
Louis de Witt Special Effects
Ernest Haller Cinematographer
Sidney Harmon Producer
Ben Maddow Screenwriter
Richard Meyer Editor
John S. Poplin Production Designer
Jack R. Rabin Special Effects
Jack Solomon Sound/Sound Designer
Sophia Stutz Costumes/Costume Designer
Philip Yordan Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- God's Little Acre
1. Chapter I [22:41]
2. Chapter II [13:08]
3. Chapter III [14:41]
4. Chapter IV [12:39]
5. Chapter V [17:41]
6. Chapter VI [14:09]
7. Chapter VII [6:36]
8. Chapter VIII [16:09]

Customer Reviews