Hannah Arendt

Hannah Arendt

Barbara Sukowa
Director: Margarethe von Trotta Cast: Barbara Sukowa
Barbara Sukowa
, Axel Milberg
Axel Milberg
, Janet McTeer
Janet McTeer
Margarethe von Trotta


$27.29 $29.99 Save 9% Current price is $27.29, Original price is $29.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Director Margarethe von Trotta collaborates with screenwriter Pamela Katz to explore a key chapter in the life of German/Jewish political theorist and philosopher Hannah Arendt (Barbara Sukowa), who coined the phrase "banality of evil" while covering the 1961 trial of former Nazi Adolf Eichmann for The New Yorker. As the high-profile trial gets underway, Sukowa's astute observations on both Eichmann and the Jewish councils prove to be highly thought-provoking, and deeply controversial.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/19/2013
UPC: 0795975115636
Original Release: 2012
Rating: NR
Source: Zeitgeist Films
Time: 1:53:00

Special Features

Q&A with director Margarethe von Trotta, screenwriter Pam Katz, actresses Barbara Sukowa and Janet Mc Teer, and advisor Jerome Kohn; Making-of documentary; Deleted scenes; U.S. theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Barbara Sukowa Hannah Arendt
Axel Milberg Heinrich Blücher
Janet McTeer Mary McCarthy
Julia Jentsch Lotte Köhler
Nicholas Woodeson William Shawn
Klaus Pohl Martin Heidegger
Ulrich Noethen Hans Jonas
Michael Degen Kurt Blumenfeld
Sascha Ley Actor
Victoria Trauttmansdorff Charlotte Beradt
Friederike Becht Young Hannah Arendt
Megan Gay Francis Wells
Tom Leick Jonathan Schell
Harvey Friedman Thomas Miller

Technical Credits
Margarethe von Trotta Director,Screenwriter
Bettina Böhler Editor
Bettina Brokemper Producer
Caroline Champetier Cinematographer
Antoine de Clermont-Tonnerre Co-producer
Sophie Dulac Co-producer
Alexander Dumreicher-Ivanceanu Co-producer
Frauke Firl Costumes/Costume Designer
John Hubbard Casting
Ros Hubbard Casting
Pamela Katz Screenwriter
Michael Kranz Sound Mixer
Andre Mergenthaler Score Composer
Bady Minck Co-producer
Johannes Rexin Producer
Volker Schaefer Production Designer
David Silber Co-producer
Greg Vittore Sound/Sound Designer
Astrid Weber Makeup
Michel Zana Co-producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Hannah Arendt
1. Eichmann Captured [7:40]
2. The Rat Line [5:10]
3. Frau Professor [7:59]
4. Observing Eichmann [7:50]
5. Unextraordinary [11:31]
6. Return To New York [8:41]
7. Aneurysm [6:56]
8. Rationalizing [6:54]
9. The New Yorker [8:34]
10. Published [6:50]
11. A Night Out [7:37]
12. Shunned [3:11]
13. Standing Trial [6:03]
14. End Credits [12:25]
15. Chapter 15 [5:52]

Customer Reviews