Hell on Frisco Bay

Hell on Frisco Bay

Alan Ladd
Director: Frank Tuttle Cast: Alan Ladd
Alan Ladd
, Edward G. Robinson
Edward G. Robinson
, Joanne Dru
Joanne Dru
Frank Tuttle


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Hell on Frisco Bay is a slam-bang return to the sort of gangster fare turned out by the yard at Warner Bros. in the 1930s. Alan Ladd plays ex-cop Steve Rollins, who serves five years on a manslaughter rap. Upon his release, Rollins dedicates himself to finding the real killer. He soon learns that the man responsible for the frame-up was Victor Amato (Edward G. Robinson), the crime kingpin who rules the roost on the docks of San Francisco. Hoping to keep the heat off his operation, Amato "invites" Rollins to join his gang. Had Rollins accepted at this point, the film would have been over; instead, he doggedly pursues the gang boss with the help of such allies as cast-off gangster moll Kay Stanley (Fay Wray) and police lieutenant Dan Bianco (William Demarest). Amato is so desperate at one point that he orders the murder of his own nephew; surely a man with this sort of temperament is doomed to a horrible demise, and that's just what happens. Joanne Dru costars as Rollins' estranged wife Marcia, who believes in her husband but doesn't relish the notion of his being shot full of holes by Amato's goons. At the time of the film's release, the critics went overboard in their approval of Edward G. Robinson's full-blooded reprisal of the sort of role which made him famous (Robinson himself hated the part, but needed the work).

Product Details

Release Date: 10/24/2017
UPC: 0888574535520
Original Release: 1955
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Sound: [DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound]
Time: 1:38:00
Sales rank: 21,123

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Alan Ladd Steve Rollins
Edward G. Robinson Victor Amato
Joanne Dru Marcia Rollins
William Demarest Dan Bianco
Paul Stewart Joe Lye
Fay Wray Kay Stanley
Perry Lopez Mario Amato
Renata Vanni Anna Amato
Nestor Paiva Lou Fiaschetti
Stanley Adams Hammy
Willis B. Bouchey Lt. Neville
Peter Hanson Detective Connors
Anthony Caruso Sebastian Pasmonick
George Lewis Father Larocca
Tina Carver Besie Custer
Rod Taylor Brodie Evans
Peter J. Votrian George Pasmonick
Jayne Mansfield Blonde
Mae Marsh Landlady

Technical Credits
Frank Tuttle Director
John Beckman Art Director
George C. Bertholon Associate Producer
Folmar Blangsted Editor
Sydney Boehm Screenwriter
William Kissell Asst. Director
William L. Kuehl Set Decoration/Design
Charles Lang Sound/Sound Designer
Moss Mabry Costumes/Costume Designer
Martin Rackin Screenwriter
John F. Seitz Cinematographer
Max Steiner Score Composer

Customer Reviews