Eddie Vedder
Director: Doug Pray Cast: Eddie Vedder
Eddie Vedder
, Bruce Pavitt
Bruce Pavitt
Doug Pray

DVD (Special Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Doug Pray's entertaining and opinionated documentary on the Seattle music scene takes the (admittedly unusual) position that the Grunge Explosion of the mid-1990s was the worst thing to happen to rock music in the Pacific Northwest. Hype! depicts Seattle as a town where a fertile musical community with a distinctive sound and style grew largely because it was ignored by the rest of the world. Once the unexpected success of Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Soundgarden made Seattle the rock capital of the world, drugs took hold, opportunists scrambled for the spotlight, and cheap flannel shirts became "grunge fashion." The movie features revealing (and often hilarious) interviews with members of such groups as Mudhoney, the Mono Men, the Fastbacks, Seven Year Bitch, Tad, Girl Trouble, Gas Huffer, Dead Moon, and the Supersuckers, as well as performance footage of all these bands and informed perspectives from a number of behind-the-scenes figures. It also features a technically shaky but historically priceless clip of Nirvana's first public performance of "Smells Like Teen Spirit."

Product Details

Release Date: 09/29/2017
UPC: 0826663178517
Original Release: 1996
Source: Shout Factory
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:23:00
Sales rank: 51,849

Special Features

"Hype! 20 Years After" Featuring new interviews with members of Mudhoney, Soundgarden, and The Fastbacks, Record Producers Jack Endino and Steve Fisk, Manager Susan Silver, and Photographer Charles Peterson; New Audio Commentary by Director Doug Pray; Vintage Interviews and Performances; Peter Bagge's Animated Short, "Hate"

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Hype!
1. Chapter 1 [16:07]
2. Chapter 2 [:01]
1. Chapter 1 [4:07]
1. The Seattle Story [6:40]
2. The 1980s [4:24]
3. Degrees Of Separation [2:19]
4. Stage Presence [4:40]
5. Home-Brewed Bands [2:57]
6. Beginnings Of A Sound [5:05]
7. Sub Pop [6:25]
8. Explosion Of Subculture [4:05]
9. Local Band Makes Good [2:51]
10. Everything Changes [7:06]
11. Ton Of Bands [4:03]
12. Grunge Hits Big Time [5:44]
13. Grunge Style [1:22]
14. Success Sucks [4:55]
15. End Of "The Hype" [7:34]
16. Perspectives [7:28]
17. Chapter 17 [4:55]

Customer Reviews