I Called Him Morgan

I Called Him Morgan

Kasper Collin
 Cast: Kasper Collin
Kasper Collin
, Lee Morgan
Lee Morgan
, Larry Reni Thomas
Larry Reni Thomas
, Wayne Shorter
Wayne Shorter


$18.32 $19.99 Save 8% Current price is $18.32, Original price is $19.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Kasper Collin directed this documentary look at the life of jazz trumpeter Lee Morgan, whose prolific career was cut short when he was murdered by his common-law wife Helen in 1972. Morgan's musical accomplishments and relationship with Helen are retold through extensive archival footage. ~ Daniel Gelb

Product Details

Release Date: 06/12/2018
UPC: 0760137112693
Original Release: 2016
Source: Filmrise
Time: 1:31:00
Sales rank: 27,686

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Lee Morgan Actor
Kasper Collin Interviewee
Larry Reni Thomas Participant
Wayne Shorter Participant
Paul West Participant
Charli Persip Participant
Albert "Tootie" Heath Participant
Ron St. Clair Participant
Larry Ridley Participant
Jymie Merritt Participant
Al Harrison Participant
Lena Sherrod Participant
Bennie Maupin Participant
Jerry Schultz Participant
Judith Johnson Participant
Billy Harper Participant

Technical Credits
Kasper Collin Director,Editor,Producer,Screenwriter
Mario Adamson Sound/Sound Designer
Jan Alvermark Sound Mixer,Sound/Sound Designer
Sofie Bjorklund Co-producer
Dan Braun Executive Producer
Ami Ekstrom Co-producer
Eva Hillstrom Editor
Dino Jonsater Editor
Hanna Lejonqvist Editor
Ron Mann Executive Producer
Emelie Persson Co-producer
Nicole Stott Executive Producer
Erik Vallsten Cinematographer
Gary Welch Musical Direction/Supervision
Bradford Young Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- I Called Him Morgan
255. Chapters
1. Intro - It's Going To Be A Stormy Night [4:34]
2. Helen 1 - North Carolina [5:24]
3. Lee 1 - We Knew He Was Going To Be A Star [8:16]
4. Helen 2 - Helen in New York - I Was Sharp [2:31]
5. Lee 2 - Blue Note - The Music Is Gonna Last Forever [3:03]
6. Helen 3 - The Apartment on 53rd Street [3:34]
7. Lee 3 - Gigging and Dark Sides [4:15]
8. The Meeting [5:29]
9. New Start - Good Times - LA 1970 [12:00]
10. New Times - The Workshop - New Friends - Soul [16:28]
11. Last Evening - New York February 19, 1972 [11:53]
12. The End of a Beginning [17:47]

Customer Reviews