Il Profumo della Signora in Nero

Il Profumo della Signora in Nero

Mimsy Farmer
Director: Francesco Barilli Cast: Mimsy Farmer
Mimsy Farmer
, Jho Jhenkins
Jho Jhenkins
, Luigi Antonio Guerra
Luigi Antonio Guerra
Francesco Barilli

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)

$18.19 $19.99 Save 9% Current price is $18.19, Original price is $19.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Francesco Barilli, star of Prima della Rivoluzione, made his directorial debut with this unique, hallucinatory horror-thriller. Mimsy Farmer portrays Sylvia, a chemist who begins to suffer from strange visions. She sees a mysterious woman in black applying perfume in a mirror, strangers following her everywhere she goes, and a ghostly little girl reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland, who may be Sylvia herself as a child. It turns out that Sylvia stabbed her mother's sexually abusive boyfriend to death long ago, and now her visions are driving her to madness and cleaver-murders. The other possibility, however, is that literally all of Sylvia's friends are Satanists conspiring to cause her suicide. This is a remarkable film, weaving reality, fantasy and memory into an almost seamless fabric to dizzying and poetic effect. Admittedly, there are several logical lapses and unanswered questions, but the film's singular vision more than compensates for such oversights. Barilli went on to direct the unnerving drama Pensione Paura.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/22/2011
UPC: 0816018010098
Original Release: 1974
Rating: NR
Source: Raro Video Usa Ltd.
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:44:00
Sales rank: 45,711

Special Features

Documentary Portrait in Black; Director's Biography; Director's Filmography; A Fully Illustrated Booklet Containing Criticial Analysis

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Perfume of the Lady in Black
1. The Light Is On [8:17]
2. Sacrificial Victim [8:52]
3. The Look Of A Woman [10:48]
4. Child's Memory [15:34]
5. Into Sylvia's Mind [7:40]
6. Someone Is Knocking [11:08]
7. A Weak Heart [4:14]
8. As Alice [10:39]
9. The Old House [11:04]
10. The Day Of The Festival [14:04]
11. End Credits [1:03]

Customer Reviews