Magnus Carlsen
Director: Benjamin Ree Cast: Magnus Carlsen
Magnus Carlsen
, Garry Kasparov
Garry Kasparov
, Viswanathan Anand
Viswanathan Anand
Benjamin Ree

DVD (Color)

$18.19 $19.99 Save 9% Current price is $18.19, Original price is $19.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Norwegian documentary filmmaker Benjamin Ree profiles Magnus Carlsen, tracing his journey from a bullied, introverted 13-year-old boy to a World Chess Champion. The use of home movies and archival footage reveals a unique coming-of-age story combined with a narrative about a boy determined to succeed in his chosen field. ~ Daniel Gelb

Product Details

Release Date: 12/12/2017
UPC: 0760137950394
Original Release: 2016
Source: Filmrise
Presentation: [Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:16:00
Sales rank: 50,101

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Magnus Carlsen Participant
Garry Kasparov Participant
Viswanathan Anand Participant
Henrik Carlsen Actor

Technical Credits
Benjamin Ree Director,Cinematographer,Screenwriter
Aage Aaberge Executive Producer
Oyvind Asbjornsen Cinematographer,Executive Producer
Even Benestad Editor
Perry Eriksen Editor
Magnus Flåto Cinematographer
John Einar Hagen Associate Producer
Uno Helmersson Score Composer
Sigurd Mikal Karoliussen Producer
Linn-Jeanethe Kyed Screenwriter
Birte Mesøy Cinematographer
Kristoffer Metcalfe Producer
Macauley Peterson Associate Producer
Martin Stoltz Editor
Fredric Vogel Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Magnus
1. Magnus [2:38]
2. How Did It All Start? [9:27]
3. Expectations [2:38]
4. Life as an Outsider [3:19]
5. Magnus vs. Garry Kasparov [5:35]
6. Youngest Grandmaster [3:15]
7. Mind of Chess [2:07]
8. The Candidates Tournament [9:10]
9. Lucky Loser [3:23]
10. Vishy Anand [2:07]
11. Preparation [4:21]
12. Chennai, India [4:19]
13. Magnus vs. Anand [8:38]
14. Rest Day [2:07]
15. Victory [3:48]
16. Chess World Champion [2:44]
17. The Mozart of Chess [2:49]
18. End Credits [5:53]

Customer Reviews