Notes from Underground

Notes from Underground

Henry Czerny
Director: Gary Walkow Cast: Henry Czerny
Henry Czerny
, Sheryl Lee
Sheryl Lee
, Eammon Roche
Eammon Roche
Gary Walkow


$27.59 $29.99 Save 8% Current price is $27.59, Original price is $29.99. You Save 8%.


This adaptation of Dostoevsky's novella does an exceptional job of retaining the multi-textured richness of the original story about the intimate thoughts of an anonymous lonely building inspector known only as the Underground Man. Everything about the misanthropic civil servant is dull and unpleasant. His job is boring and his only joy comes in using bureaucracy to spitefully torment contractors and architects who despise him. Realizing that he has no friends, the Underground Man does try to ingratiate himself with acquaintances and only ends up even more lonely and bitter. It does not help that he believes himself intellectually superior to those he encounters. He gets involved with a prostitute, Liza, whom he sees at a local brothel. His relationship with her is as complex as he is. On one hand he inflicts his seething rage and the pain of his isolation upon her; on the other, he cares about her and wants to help her escape her sordid situation. He decides to take her to his home, but once she is there, he finds that he is unable to overcome his misanthropy and ends up making her even more miserable.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/11/2010
UPC: 0887090000017
Original Release: 1995
Rating: NR
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:28:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; Commentary by Gary Wilkow, Henry Czerny, and Peter Ellis; Commentary by professor Joseph Frank (princeton university); Lecture commentary w/slide imagery by professor Joseph Frank (Princeton university); Original critical essay by professor Deborah Martinsen (Columbia university); Essay also available on dvd-rom in pdf format; Photo gallery; Weblinks; Dual layered dvd for maximum video quality

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Henry Czerny The Underground Man
Sheryl Lee Liza
Eammon Roche Simon
Charles Stratton Jerry
Geoffrey Rivas Tom
Jon Favreau Zerkov
Seth Green Actor

Technical Credits
Gary Walkow Director,Executive Producer,Screenwriter
Chris Beckman Producer
Mark Benson Art Director
Fred Cisterna Set Decoration/Design
Alicia Dollard Producer
Peter B. Ellis Editor
Randall Fukunaga Associate Producer
Dan Gillham Cinematographer
Mark Governor Score Composer
Frank Gruber Producer
Richard S. Lederer Asst. Director
Yehuda Maayan Sound/Sound Designer
Alina Panova Costumes/Costume Designer
Bonita Pietila Casting
Michael Rizzo Production Designer
Steve Siegel Associate Producer
Cindy Vance Art Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Notes from Underground
1. I am a Sick Man [3:37]
2. Because I Had Authority [2:19]
3. The Need to Embrace Humanity [5:44]
4. Rejected [15:57]
5. And You Are? [12:32]
6. Fast and Decisive Action [5:04]
7. She Haunted Me All Night [21:12]
8. So I See You Lates Them! [14:17]
9. So Many Unpleasant Memories [6:34]

Customer Reviews