Only the Valiant

Only the Valiant

Director: Gordon M. Douglas Cast: Gregory Peck, Barbara Payton, Ward Bond


$19.12 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.12, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


Originally conceived as a Gary Cooper western, Only the Valiant reached the screen with Gregory Peck in the lead. Peck plays Richard Lance, a strictly by-the-book Army captain. Though hated by his men, Lance is respected for his military know-how. This comes in very handy when Lance and a detachment of troops attempt to reach, and then hold, an unguarded Army garrison in the middle of Apache Country. Among the film's he-man contingent are Ward Bond, Gig Young, Lon Chaney Jr., Neville Brand, Jeff Corey and Steve Brodie, all delivering topnotch performances. The nominal leading lady is Barbara Payton, whose real-life tragedies were far more dramatic than any film she appeared in. Only the Valiant was based on a novel by Charles Marquis Warren.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/27/2013
UPC: 0887090070508
Original Release: 1950
Rating: NR
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:45:00
Sales rank: 30,752

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Gregory Peck Capt. Richard Lance
Barbara Payton Cathy Eversham
Ward Bond Cpl. Timothy Gilchrist
Gig Young Lt. William Holloway
Lon Chaney Trooper Kebussyan
Neville Brand Sgt. Ben Murdock
Jeff Corey Joe Harmony
Warner Anderson Trooper Rutledge
Steve Brodie Trooper Onstot
Dan Riss Lt. Jerry Winters
Terry Kilburn Trooper Saxton
Herbert Heyes Col. Drumm
Art Baker Capt. Jennings
Hugh Sanders Capt. Eversham
Nana Bryant Mrs. Drumm
Michael Ansara Tucsos

Technical Credits
Gordon M. Douglas Director
Harry Brown Screenwriter
William Cagney Producer
Walter A. Hannemann Editor
Wiard Ihnen Production Designer
Lionel Lindon Cinematographer
Armor E. Marlowe Set Decoration/Design
Edmund H. North Screenwriter
Robert S. Seiter Editor
Franz Waxman Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Only the Valiant
1. Scene 1 [:00]
2. Scene 1 [13:13]
3. Scene 2 [17:24]
4. Scene 3 [17:44]
5. Scene 4 [6:10]
6. Scene 5 [14:20]
7. Scene 6 [15:05]
8. Scene 7 [8:38]
9. Scene 8 [12:32]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews