Passport to Pimlico

Passport to Pimlico

Stanley Holloway
Director: Henry Cornelius Cast: Stanley Holloway
Stanley Holloway
, Betty Warren
Betty Warren
, Barbara Murray
Barbara Murray
Henry Cornelius


$23.99 $29.99 Save 20% Current price is $23.99, Original price is $29.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Passport to Pimlico is one of the most charmingly whimsical Ealing Studios comedies of the late 1940s-early 1950s. As a result of wartime bombing, an ancient parchment is uncovered, proving that the Pimlico section of London belongs to Burgundy, France. Long taken for granted by other Londoners, the tiny Pimlico populace decides to take advantage of its "foreign" status. Affable oaf Stanley Holloway is made head of the new government, whereupon he merrily begins erecting borders and imposing customs duties. The sweetly satirical script of Passport to Pimlico was written by director Henry Cornelius and Ealing stalwart T.E.B. Clarke.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/20/2019
UPC: 0850003924489
Original Release: 1949
Source: Film Movement
Region Code: A
Time: 1:24:00
Sales rank: 30,787

Special Features

Interview with BFI curator Mark Duguid Locations featurette with film historian Richard Dacre Restoration comparison Stills gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Stanley Holloway Arthur Pemberton
Betty Warren Connie Pemberton
Barbara Murray Shirley Pemberton
Paul Dupuis Duke of Burgundy
John Slater Frank Huggins
Jane Hylton Molly Reid
Raymond Huntley Mr. Wix
Philip Stainton Police Constable Ted Spiller
Roy Carr Benny Spiller
Sydney Tafler Fred Cowan
Nancy Gabrielle Mrs. Cowan
Malcolm Knight Monty Cowan
Hermione Baddeley Edie Randall
Roy Gladdish Charlie Randall
Frederick Piper Garland
Charles Hawtrey Bert Fitch
Margaret Rutherford Professor Hatton-Jones
Stuart Lindsell Coroner
Naunton Wayne Straker
Basil Radford Gregg
Gilbert Davis Bagshawe
Michael Hordern Bashford
Arthur Howard Bassett
Bill Shine Captain Willow
Harry Locke Sergeant
Sam Kydd Sapper
Joey Carr Actor
Lloyd Pearson Fawcett
Arthur Denton Customs Official
Tommy Godfrey Bus Conductor
James Hayter Commissionaire
Masoni Conjurer
Fred Griffiths Bill, the Spiv
Grace Arnold Pompous Woman
Paul Demel Central European on train
Doris Yorke Actor

Technical Credits
Henry Cornelius Director
Georges Auric Score Composer
Michael Balcon Producer
Lionel Banes Cinematographer
T.E.B. Clarke Screenwriter
Cecil Cooney Camera Operator,Cinematographer
Stephen Dalby Sound/Sound Designer
E.V.H. Emmett Associate Producer
Anthony Mendleson Costumes/Costume Designer
Roy Oxley Art Director
Gordon Scott Asst. Director
Gordon L.T. Scott Asst. Director
Ernest Taylor Makeup
Michael Truman Editor

Customer Reviews