Pierrot Le Fou

Pierrot Le Fou

Jean-Paul Belmondo
Director: Jean-Luc Godard Cast: Jean-Paul Belmondo
Jean-Paul Belmondo
, Anna Karina
Anna Karina
, Dirk Sanders
Dirk Sanders
Jean-Luc Godard

DVD (Color)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Pierrot le fou (1965) is Jean-Luc Godard's sixth film staring Anna Karina, his first wife. It is the story of Ferdinand (Jean-Paul Belmondo) and Marianne (Karina). They meet when Ferdinand's wife hires Marianne as a baby-sitter. As he drives Marianne home, Ferdinand decides to run away with her. The couple get caught up in a mysterious gun-running scheme involving Marianne's brother (Dirk Sanders). With Pierrot le fou Godard returns to the story of A bout de souffle (Breathless): the tale of a couple on the run. But in the six years between the two films Godard developed a more complex and often difficult style. Pierrot le fou incorporates musical numbers, references to the history of cinema and painting, and quotations from literature. The film features Godard's most extended use of color to that point, as the shots are filled with blocks of bright primary colors. Pierrot le fou is a catalogue of cinematic inventions and of gestures made by couples in love.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/06/2020
UPC: 0715515241212
Original Release: 1965
Source: Criterion Collection
Presentation: [Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono, Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:50:00
Sales rank: 6,308

Special Features

New 2k digital restoration; Interview from 2007 with actor Anna Karina; A "Pierrot" Primer, a video essay from 2007 written and narrrated by filmmaker Jean-Pierre Gorin; Godard, l'amour, la poesie, a fifty-minute 2007 French documentary by Luc Lagier, about Director Jean-Luc Godard and his work with and marriage to Karina; Excerpts of interviews from 1965 with Godard, Karina, and actor Jean-Paul Belmondo; Trailer; Plus: An essay by critic Richard Brody

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jean-Paul Belmondo Ferdinand Griffon, "Pierrot"
Anna Karina Marianne Ronoir
Dirk Sanders Fred, Marianne's Brother
Raymond Devos Man on the Pier
Graziella Galvani Ferdinand's Wife
Roger Dutoit Gangster
Princess Aicha Abidir Herself
Pierre Hanin 3rd Brother
Krista Nell Mme. Staquet
Alexis Poliakoff Sailor
Laszlo Szabo Political Exile from Santo Domingo
Samuel Fuller Himself
Hans Meyer Gangster
Jimmy Karoubi Dwarf
Jean-Pierre Léaud Young Man in Movie Theatre
Pascal Aubier 2nd Brother

Technical Credits
Jean-Luc Godard Director,Screenwriter
Boris Bassiak Songwriter
Francoise Collin Editor
Raoul Coutard Cinematographer
Georges de Beauregard Producer
Antoine Duhamel Score Composer
Pierre Guffroy Art Director
Jean-Pierre Léaud Asst. Director
René Levert Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Pierrot le Fou - The Film
255. Chapters
1. Ferdinand [5:32]
2. Cocktail Party [4:44]
3. Marianne Renoir [4:43]
4. Breakfast In Bed [4:08]
5. "A Story, All Mixed Up" [3:16]
6. Laurel and Hardy [4:14]
7. Stories and Accidents [5:13]
8. Crossing France [2:26]
9. '62 Ford Galaxie [6:20]
10. Riviera [3:50]
11. Perfect Happiness [6:57]
12. Sick Of It [4:52]
13. Play For The Americans [2:12]
14. "My Fate Line" [:17]
15. Small World [5:39]
16. Call From Marianne [4:19]
17. Despair [6:57]
18. The Princess and Pierrot [3:40]
19. Going To Meet Fred [5:41]
20. Crazy Setup [4:51]
21. "Do You Love Me?" [7:18]
22. Eternity [5:54]
1. Color Bars [7:31]
Disc #2 -- Pierrot le Fou - The Supplements
1. "Like A Gift" [1:51]
2. "We Knew What He Wanted" [4:46]
3. Singing In Films [2:39]
4. Big Cheese and Bowling [3:07]
5. A Modern Film [1:52]
1. "A, B, And C Of It" [1:10]
2. Quotes [2:49]
3. Conjugation [2:05]
4. Godardian Cool [2:08]
5. Exposition And Graphics [2:19]
6. Classicism [2:20]
7. The Pierrot Machine [2:50]
8. "An Impossible Scene" [2:51]
9. Punctuation [2:02]
10. Voodoo of Childhood [1:43]
11. Musical Design [2:01]
12. Time Suspended [5:57]
13. Homage To Anna Karina [2:58]
14. "Expect The Unexpected" [2:41]
0. Chapters
1. Chapter 1 [9:21]
0. Chapters
1. Chapter 1 [3:58]
1. Godard Before Karina [8:53]
2. Anna [1:40]
3. Le Petit Soldat [9:04]
4. A Woman Is A Woman [4:58]
5. Vivre Sa Vie [8:17]
6. Contempt [7:17]
7. Alphaville [3:58]
8. Pierrot Fe Fou [8:45]

Customer Reviews