Prince Igor

Prince Igor

Boris Khmelnitsky
Director: Roman Tikhomirov Cast: Boris Khmelnitsky
Boris Khmelnitsky
, Nelly Pshennaya
Nelly Pshennaya
, Boris Tokarev
Boris Tokarev
Roman Tikhomirov


$17.99 $19.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Russian composer Alexandre Borodin (1833-1887) spent nearly two decades working intermittently on the music and libretto of Prince Igor, but he left the opera unfinished at his death. Acquaintances Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov and Alexander Glazunov completed it, and the opera debuted in St. Petersburg in 1890. Through rousing patriotic music flavored with Slavic and Oriental motifs, the folk opera centers on episodes in the life of Prince Igor Svyatoslavich (1150-1202), a Ukrainian ruler who wages war against Tartar invaders from the east known as the Polovtsy. After Igor (Boris Khmelnitsky) and his wife, Princess Yaroslavna (Nelly Pshennaya), sing duets and bid farewell, Igor and his son, Vladimir (Boris Tokarev), lead their army against the Polovtsy. Although Igor and his soldiers fight valiantly, the Polovtsy win the war and capture Igor and his son. The Tartar leader, Khan (Yevgeny Nesterenko), treats Igor and Vladimir with respect, sings a salute to Igor, and regales him when night falls with lively dancing (the "Polovtsian Dances," performed by the Kirov Ballet). Meanwhile, Vladimir falls in love with Khan's daughter. At home in the Ukraine, a plot to usurp Igor's throne unfolds. Then, with the help of a sympathizer, Igor and Vladimir escape, but the boy is recaptured. After Igor returns and reunites with Yaroslavna, his subjects rejoice, the plot against him defuses, and he prepares to march off again.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/31/2007
UPC: 0032031128699
Original Release: 1971
Rating: NR
Source: Kultur Video
Time: 1:50:00
Sales rank: 43,540

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Prince Igor
1. Titles and Overture [4:21]
2. We Go to Fight the Enemies of Russia [1:01]
3. It's Time, My Princess [3:48]
4. This Isn't for Me [:55]
5. My Own Sweet Love [1:05]
6. I Entrust Her to You as Her Brother [2:11]
7. Is Our Prince Enjoying Himself? [1:13]
8. Ah! To Be Prince and Ruler [2:30]
9. Now There's a Man Born to Be Prince! [1:10]
10. A Tragic Day [2:20]
11. The Polovtsians Attack [4:53]
12. Glory! [1:54]
13. The Light of Day Is Almost Gone [2:53]
14. Sunset Over the Mountains [1:36]
15. Much Time Has Passed [3:06]
16. We Need Your Help, Princess [:51]
17. The Prince! [7:13]
18. Welcome, Good Boyars [3:28]
19. Who Will Defend Us? [3:16]
20. My Soul Knows Neither Rest nor Peace [6:34]
21. Excuse Me, Prince [4:09]
22. How Are You Doing, Prince? [2:19]
23. No, Prince... You Are No Captive [5:20]
24. I Thank You, Khan [4:07]
25. Polovtsian Dances and Chorus [5:24]
26. The Day Is Slowly Dying [1:33]
27. Where Are You? [1:40]
28. Vladimir, Dearest One! [2:37]
29. Entertain Our Khan With Dancing [2:23]
30. Prince, Come On, It's Time [:44]
31. What Does Your Father Say? [1:58]
32. Igor and Vladimir Escape [1:10]
33. What's That Noise? [1:57]
34. Flow Freely, Tears [4:58]
35. My Own Bright Falcon! [1:24]
36. Play! Sing of Igor's Fame! [3:45]
37. Head for the Square! [1:18]
38. Ready to March [1:11]
39. Lead Us Into Battle [3:18]
40. Credits [:53]

Customer Reviews