Room for One More

Room for One More

Director: Norman Taurog Cast: Cary Grant, Betsy Drake, George Winslow

DVD (B&W / Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 19


Based on the autobiography by George and Anna Rose, Room for One More is a warm-hearted vehicle for husband-and-wife actors Cary Grant and Betsy Drake. Though she already has three children of her own, New Jersey housewife Anna Rose (Drake) adopts several kids born into less fortunate circumstances. Both Anna and her husband "Poppy" (Grant) must contend with the emotional baggage brought to their home by these "unwanted" kids, and both bear up quite well. The film's dramatic core concerns the Roses' efforts to reach a desperately unhappy 13-year-old girl (Iris Mann) and a physically handicapped boy with a penchant for getting into serious trouble (Clifford Tatum Jr). Despite occasional moments of anguish and pathos, Room for One More for the most part opts for a light-hearted approach to its subject matter. In 1962, a TV sitcom version of Room for One More, starring Andrew Duggan and Peggy McCay, debuted as a mid-season replacement over the ABC network; at that time, the original film was re-titled The Easy Way.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/23/2009
UPC: 0883316126936
Original Release: 1952
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [B&W, Full Frame]
Time: 1:35:00
Sales rank: 16,631

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Cary Grant "Poppy" Rose
Betsy Drake Anna Rose
George Winslow Teenie
Iris Mann Jane
Randy Stuart Mrs. Foreman
John Ridgely Harry Foreman
Clifford Tatum Jimmy-John
Lurene Tuttle Miss Kenyon
Irving Bacon The Mayor
Mary Treen Mrs. Roberts
Gay Gordon Trot
Malcolm Cassell Tim
Larry Olsen Ben Roberts
William Bakewell Milkman
Don Beddoe School Principal
Oliver Blake Mr. Doran
Lillian Bronson Teacher
Frank Ferguson Steve
Douglas Fowley Ice Man
Dabbs Greer Scoutmaster
Gretchen Hartman Chairwoman
Mary Ellen Hokanson Woman
Doris Kemper Actor
John McGovern Senior Patrol Leader
Charles Meredith Mr. Thatcher
Mary Newton Actor
Ezelle Poule Actor
Felice Richmond Actor
Stephen Wootton Little Brother
Dorothy Kennedy Actor
Marcoreta Hellman Actor
Karen Hale Actor
Ray Page Gas Station Attendent
Tony Taylor Joey
Hayden Rorke The Doctor

Technical Credits
Norman Taurog Director
Douglas Bacon Art Director
Gordon Bau Makeup
Marjorie Best Costumes/Costume Designer
Henry Blanke Producer
Robert Burks Cinematographer
Alan Crosland Editor
William L. Kuehl Set Decoration/Design
Leah Rhodes Costumes/Costume Designer
Jack Rose Screenwriter
Melville Shavelson Screenwriter
Max Steiner Score Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews