Director: Irvin Kershner Cast: Donald Sutherland, Elliott Gould, Zouzou

DVD (Wide Screen)


In 1974, flanked by such filmic monuments to paranoia and corruption as Chinatown and The Parallax View, Elliott Gould and Donald Sutherland tried to re-create the screwball nonchalance of their earlier M*A*S*H performances in this lightweight spy spoof, directed by Irvin Kershner. Gould and Sutherland play two CIA agents -- Griff and Bruland -- who are marked for death by their own agency after botching the defection of a Russian ballet dancer (Michael Petrovich). As they repeatedly mess up their assignments and wriggle out of tight corners, they not only find themselves pursued by the CIA, but also by the KGB, the Chinese Communists, and a terrorist group that wants to destroy the CIA.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/03/2007
UPC: 0024543425380
Original Release: 1974
Rating: PG
Source: 20th Century Fox
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono, Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:27:00

Special Features

Inside S*P*Y*S featurette; The Road of a Hundred Days: U.S. government documentary by Irvin Kirshner; Original theatrical trailer; Still gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Donald Sutherland Eric Brulard
Elliott Gould Douglas Griffin
Zouzou Sybil
Joss Ackland Mailinson
Shane Rimmer Hessler
Vladek Sheybal Borisenko
Michael Anthony Priest
John Bardon Evans
Yuri Borienko Yuri
Robert Cawdron Vet
Andre Charisse Clerk
Nigel Hawthorne Croft
Andy Ho Toy Ling
Alf Joint KGB Agent
Hella Petri Prostitute
Larry Taylor Lippet's Bodyguard
Jeffry Wickham Seely
Pierre Oudrey Gaspar
George Pravda Coach
Kenneth J. Warren Grubov
Raf dela Torre King of Swobodia
Michael Petrovich Sevitsky
Norman Atkyns Head Waiter
Philip Ross Actor
Xavier Gélin Revolutionary
Jacques Marin Lafayette
Kenneth Griffith Lippet

Technical Credits
Irvin Kershner Director
Robert Chartoff Producer
Larry Cohen Screenwriter
Lawrence Cohen Screenwriter
Harry Cordwell Set Decoration/Design
Bill Daniels Sound/Sound Designer
Gerry Fisher Cinematographer
Fred Freeman Screenwriter
Jerry Goldsmith Score Composer
Robert Lawrence Editor,Producer
Malcolm Marmorstein Screenwriter
Keith Palmer Editor
Richard Rambaut Art Director
Richard Rambeau Art Director
John Scott Score Composer
Michael Seymour Production Designer
Doug Turner Sound/Sound Designer
Irwin Winkler Producer
Sue Yelland Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- S*P*Y*S
1. Main Titles [3:41]
2. Dumb Mistake [4:20]
3. The Defector [5:07]
4. Captured [2:08]
5. On the Run [3:29]
6. Sybil [4:14]
7. Reciprocal Agreement [6:18]
8. Dealmaking [:40]
9. Lippet [1:31]
10. Bad Service [3:53]
11. The Letter [2:55]
12. Car Chase [1:54]
13. Punctuation [4:25]
14. Archie, Aka Rover [:55]
15. Contact Lens [7:03]
16. Wedding Fracas [1:58]
17. Torture [2:48]
18. Bluffing [3:33]
19. Up in Flames [3:15]
20. Side by Side/End Titles [3:22]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

S*P*Y*S 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago