John Hurt
Director: Michael Caton-Jones Cast: John Hurt
John Hurt
, Joanne Whalley
Joanne Whalley
, Bridget Fonda
Bridget Fonda
Michael Caton-Jones


$11.03 $11.99 Save 8% Current price is $11.03, Original price is $11.99. You Save 8%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In 1963, the conservative British government was shaken to its foundations by the Profumo Scandal. The central character in this disastrous affair was John Profumo, Britain's minister of war, who had become sexually involved with call-girl Christine Keeler, whose "sponsor" was high-priced osteopath Dr. Stephen Ward. Fancying himself a dashing international adventurer, Ward had also offered Christine to alleged Soviet spy Eugene Ivanov. Another of Ward's stable, Mandy Rice-Davies, allegedly had slept with numerous British and American luminaries. The whole sordid story, which ended with Ward's suicide and Profumo's public disgrace, was recounted with relish in director Michael Caton-Jones's Scandal, which featured John Hurt as Stephen Ward, Joanne Whalley-Kilmer as Christine Keeler, Ian McKellan as Profumo, Bridget Fonda as Mandy Rice-Davies, and Jeroen Krabbe as Ivanov. In its original form, the film was ripe enough to court an X-rating; post-production trimming enabled it to squeak by with an R.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/23/2010
UPC: 8809151397029
Original Release: 1989
Source: Imports
Sales rank: 7,583

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Hurt Stephen Ward
Joanne Whalley Christine Keeler
Bridget Fonda Mandy Rice-Davies
Ian McKellen John Profumo
Leslie Phillips Lord Astor
Britt Ekland Mariella Novotny
Roland Gift Johnnie Edgecombe
Jeroen Krabbé Eugene Ivanov
Daniel Massey Mervyn Griffith-Jones
Jean Alexander Mrs. Keeler
Alex Norton Detective Inspector
Ronald Fraser Justice Marshall
Paul Brooke Detective Sergeant
Keith Allen Kevin
Ralph Brown Paul Mann
Iain Cuthbertson Lord Hailsham
Joanna Dunham Lady Astor
Trevor Eve Matinee Idol
Oliver Ford Davies Mr. Woods
Deborah Grant Valerie Profumo
Czeslaw Grocholski Polish Gent
Leon Herbert Lucky Gordon
Tony Mathews Press Secretary
Richard Morant D'Lazlo
Mia Nadasi Olga
Jeff Nuttall Percy Murray
Ann Queensbury Mrs. Hare
Terence Rigby James Burge
Johnny Shannon Peter Rachman
Malcolm Terris Northern Gent
Joan Turner Plump Neighbor
James Villiers Conservative M.P.
Arkie Whiteley Vicky
Tariq Yunus Ayub Khan
Colette Dolan Murray's Dancer
Ken Campbell Editor of Pictorial
Doremy Vernon Head Girl

Technical Credits
Michael Caton-Jones Director,Screenwriter
Joe Boyd Executive Producer
Carl Davis Score Composer
Simon Holland Production Designer
Michael Molloy Cinematographer
Angus Newton Editor
Nik Powell Executive Producer
Jane Robinson Costumes/Costume Designer
Michael Thomas Screenwriter
Chris Townsend Art Director
Bob Weinstein Producer
Harvey Weinstein Producer
Stephen Woolley Producer

Customer Reviews