Director: Anthony Fabian Cast: Sophie Okonedo, Sam Neill, Alice Krige

DVD (Subtitled)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 17


A dark-skinned girl born to white South African parents attempts to explore her identity in the era of apartheid as her government, her parents, and society as a whole struggle with what it means to be a black child of Caucasian descent in a nation deeply divided by race. The year is 1955. Sandra Laing (Sophie Okonedo) has just been born to a pair of white Afrikaner parents, her brown skin and curly hair the surprising result of genetic throwback. As the government's rigid apartheid system struggles with whether to classify Sandra as white or black, the young girl and her parents gradually realize that the complications they face due to her appearance run deep and wide. Sandra lives in a society where the color of your skin determines the outcome of your life, and though she is eventually granted admission to an all-white school, she suffers endless torment from her intolerant classmates. Her father, Abraham (Sam Neill), is having a particularly difficult time accepting his daughter. Despite the fact that tests indicate he is her biological father, the neighbors constantly whisper behind their backs. And while Sandra's mother (Alice Krige) does her best to provide her daughter with understanding and emotional support, those consolations come at a high price for both mother and daughter. Her parents believe it's their daughter's birthright that she live as a white woman, though only after she grows up and falls in love with a black man will the conflicted Sandra finally find the strength to embrace her true identity as an African woman.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/28/2019
UPC: 0030306707099
Original Release: 2008
Rating: PG-13
Source: Mpi Home Video
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:49:00
Sales rank: 31,937

Special Features

Making of; Script Development Workshop; Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Sophie Okonedo Sandra Laing
Sam Neill Abraham Laing
Alice Krige Sannie Laing
Tony Kgoroge Petrus Zwane
Hannes Brummer Leon Laing
Ella Ramangwane Young Sandra
Danny Keogh Van Tonder
Ruaan Bok Henry Laing (age 10)
Bongani Masondo Henry Laing (age 20)
Kate-Lyn Von Meyer Elsie Laing (age 9)
Terri-Ann Eckstein Elsie Laing (age 19)
Jonathan Pienaar Van Niekirk
Ben Botha Dawie
Morne Visser Dr. Sparks
Burger Nortje Kobus
Gordon van Rooyen Judge Galgut
Tumi Morake Thembi
Zamanthebe Sithebe Young Thembi
Faniswa Yisa Nora Molefe
Nomhle Nkonyeni Jenny Zwane
Simon Mdakhi Joseph
Cobus Venter Johann
Leana Tryttsman Annie
Anna-Mart Van Der Merwe Anna Roux
Karien Van Der Merwe Nurse Beukes
Kaylim Willet Adriaan Laing
Onida Cowan Miss Van Uys
Lauren Das Neves Elize
Gladys Mahlangu Sangoma
Nicole Holme Miss Ludik
Zoea Alberts Girl in Classroom
Duane Saayman Boy in Classroom
Thami Baleka Factory Worker 1
Valesica Smith Factory Worker 2
Graeme Bloch Bailiff

Technical Credits
Anthony Fabian Director,Producer
Dewald Aukema Cinematographer
Paul Cotterell Sound/Sound Designer
Helen Crawley Screenwriter
Joe Dolce Associate Producer
Simon Fawcett Executive Producer
Genevieve Hofmeyr Producer
Hellen Kalenga Executive Producer
Billy Keam Production Designer
Jessie Keyt Screenwriter
Helena Kriel Screenwriter
Robbie Little Executive Producer
Alasdair MacCuish Executive Producer
Margaret Matheson Producer
Helene Muddiman Score Composer
John O'Rorke Editor
Laurence Paltiel Executive Producer
Jonathan Partridge Cinematographer
Marvin Saven Associate Producer
Moses Silinda Executive Producer
Noriko Watanabe Makeup
Scott Wheeler Makeup
Stuart Williams Associate Producer
Hilary Williams Associate Producer
Sue Wyburgh Makeup

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Skin
255. Chapters
1. Skin/Open [3:55]
2. To School [3:38]
3. "I'm Not Black" [3:49]
4. "What Did I Do Wrong?" [4:18]
5. Strong [2:19]
6. Staunch [2:57]
7. Panel [3:20]
8. Never Give Up [2:49]
9. Inheritance [4:07]
10. Home/Grown Up [3:15]
11. Boys/Dating [4:24]
12. Six Feet [4:12]
13. "Do You Love Me?" [4:35]
14. Forbidden [3:09]
15. Gone [3:46]
16. Punishment [3:28]
17. Baby [2:51]
18. Happy Here [2:57]
19. Things That Make You Sad [3:30]
20. Breaking the Law [4:06]
21. Razed [3:31]
22. Curse [3:51]
23. Leaving [3:29]
24. Traveling Home [2:13]
25. Unwell [4:21]
26. New Life [2:25]
27. Special Delivery [2:24]
28. Looking for Mrs. Laing [3:03]
29. Reunited [4:24]
30. End [5:31]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews