Strangers When We Meet

Strangers When We Meet

Kirk Douglas
Director: Richard Quine Cast: Kirk Douglas
Kirk Douglas
, Kim Novak
Kim Novak
, Ernie Kovacs
Ernie Kovacs
Richard Quine

DVD (Wide Screen)

4 New & Used Starting at $76.01


Sexual misconduct in white-collar suburbia is the topic of this routine melodrama involving two neighboring couples. Architect Larry Coe (Kirk Douglas), unhappy with his wife Eve's (Barbara Rush) fixation on their bank balance, starts taking an interest in Maggie Gault (Kim Novak), whose husband has been losing interest in her. The two steal several illicit moments together, but this activity has not gone unnoticed. Good ol' neighbor Felix (Walter Matthau) figures that Eve might be feeling a little neglected, so he decides to move into the picture. Richard Quine's direction is an asset to an otherwise clichéd tale.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/22/2005
UPC: 0043396050389
Original Release: 1960
Rating: NR
Source: Sony Pictures
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:57:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; [None specified]

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Kirk Douglas Larry Coe
Kim Novak Maggie Gault
Ernie Kovacs Roger Altar
Barbara Rush Eve Coe
Walter Matthau Felix Anders
Ruth Batchelor Waitress
Virginia Bruce Mrs. Wagner
John Bryant Ken Gault
Lorraine Crawford Redhead
Dick Crockett Charlie
Carol Douglas Honey Blonde
Ray Ferrell David Coe
Helen Gallagher Betty Anders
Harry Jackson Bud Ramsey
Betsy Jones-Moreland Mrs. Gerandi
Nancy Kovack Marcia
Sue Ane Langdon Daphne
Joe Palma Actor
Bart Patton Hank
Paul Picerni Gerandi
Robert Sampson Bucky
Ernest Sarracino Di Labbia
Roberta Shore Linda Harder
Kent Smith Stanley Baxter
Audrey Swanson Mrs. Baxter
Charles Victor Actor

Technical Credits
Richard Quine Director,Producer
Evan Hunter Screenwriter
Ross Bellah Art Director
Charles B. Lang Cinematographer
Jean Louis Costumes/Costume Designer
Charles Nelson Editor
Ben Lane Makeup
Morris W. Stoloff Musical Direction/Supervision
George Duning Score Composer
Louis Diage Set Decoration/Design

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Start [:12]
2. An Architect Gets Inspiration [9:47]
3. "Don't You Think I'm Pretty?" [9:30]
4. The Affair [10:43]
5. Subterfuge [15:08]
6. History Repeats Itself [4:10]
7. Cooling Off [11:49]
8. Party [7:51]
9. Exposed [9:48]
10. "What's Important?" [9:37]
11. Felix Makes Waves [11:57]
12. Leaving [9:46]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews