The Affair of the Necklace

The Affair of the Necklace

Hilary Swank
Director: Charles Shyer Cast: Hilary Swank
Hilary Swank
, Jonathan Pryce
Jonathan Pryce
, Simon Baker
Simon Baker
Charles Shyer


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A director of contemporary comedies, Charles Shyer makes a genre leap into period costume drama with this lavish epic based on a controversial chapter of French history. Hilary Swank stars as Jeanne de la Motte Valois, a countess whose royal title has been stripped from her family by the crown in late 18th century. Determined to restore her good name and privilege, Jeanne schemes politically and sexually with a trio of co-conspirators that includes her gigolo lover, Retaux de Villette (Simon Baker), her husband, Nicolas (Adrien Brody), and a mysterious Italian count (Christopher Walken) to obtain a diamond necklace worth millions. Jeanne's cabal concocts a series of forged letters linking Marie Antoinette (Joely Richardson) and the stunning 2,800-carat jewelry to the debauched Cardinal Louis de Rohan (Jonathan Pryce), an act that could end up restoring rank to the Valois family or fanning the flames of growing revolutionary sentiments. The Affair of the Necklace (2001) co-stars Brian Cox as the narrator Minister Breteuil.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/14/2017
UPC: 0888574474621
Original Release: 2001
Rating: R
Source: Warner Archives
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:57:00
Sales rank: 34,727

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Hilary Swank Jeanne Valois
Jonathan Pryce Cardinal Louis de Rohan
Simon Baker Retaux de Vilette
Adrien Brody Nicolas De La Motte
Brian Cox Minister Breteuil
Joely Richardson Marie Antoinette
Christopher Walken Cagliostro
Paul Brooke Monsieur Bohmer
Peter Eyre Monsieur Bassenge
Simon Kunz Minister of Titles
Hayden Panettiere Young Jeanne

Technical Credits
Charles Shyer Director,Producer
Stacey Attanasio Co-producer
Mark Bennett Casting
Kerry Braden Casting
Milena Canonero Costumes/Costume Designer
Mishka Cheyko Asst. Director
Kira Davis Co-producer
Tony Dawe Sound/Sound Designer
Jean-Michel Ducourty Art Director
Nigel Goldsack Associate Producer
Billy Hopkins Casting
Broderick Johnson Producer
Andrew Kosove Producer
Martin Kurel Art Director
Tony Lamberti Sound/Sound Designer
Alex McDowell Production Designer
David Moritz Editor
Redmond Morris Producer
David Newman Score Composer
Ashley Rowe Cinematographer
Suzanne Smith Casting
Gail Stevens Casting
John Sweet Screenwriter
Philippe Turlure Set Decoration/Design

Customer Reviews