The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas

Burt Reynolds
Director: Colin Higgins Cast: Burt Reynolds
Burt Reynolds
, Dolly Parton
Dolly Parton
, Dom DeLuise
Dom DeLuise
Colin Higgins

DVD (Wide Screen)

$7.99 $9.99 Save 20% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Colin Higgins directs Burt Reynolds and Dolly Parton in the musical The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, which comes to DVD with a widescreen anamorphic transfer that preserves the original theatrical aspect ratio of 2.35:1. The English soundtrack is rendered in Dolby Digital Surround. Spanish and French subtitles are accessible, and the soundtrack is closed-captioned. Supplemental materials include the theatrical trailer, a making-of featurette, and outtakes. This is a solid release from Universal that should please genre enthusiasts as well as fans of the lead performers.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/07/2003
UPC: 0025192022029
Original Release: 1982
Rating: R
Source: Universal Studios
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Surround]
Time: 1:55:00
Sales rank: 1,772

Special Features

Closed Caption; The making of the Best Little Whorehouse in Texas ; Outtakes ; Theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Burt Reynolds Sheriff Ed Earl Dodd
Dolly Parton Mona Stangely
Dom DeLuise Melvin P. Thorpe
Charles Durning Governor
Jim Nabors Deputy Fred
Robert Mandan Senator Wingwood
Lois Nettleton Dulcie Mae
Theresa Merritt Jewel
Noah Beery Edsel
Raleigh Bond Mayor
Barry Corbin C.J.
Ken Magee Mansel
Mary Jo Catlett Rita
Mary Wilson Modene
Howard K. Smith Himself
Stanley de Santis Actor
Karyn Harrison Chicken Girl
Lily Mariye Chicken Ranch Girl
Terri Robinson Chicken Ranch Girl
Terri Treas Chicken Ranch Girl
Melanie Winter Chicken Ranch Girl
Stephen Bray Aggie
Jeff Calhoun Aggie
David Engel Aggie
Joe Hart Aggie
Jerry Mitchell Aggie
Kevin Ryan Aggie
Tim Topper Aggie
Arnetia Walker Dogette
John Walter Davis Melvin's Crew
Gregory Itzin Melvin's Crew
Tim Stack Melvin's Crew
Larry B. Williams Melvin's Crew
Harvey Christiansen Old Farmer
Helen Kleeb Dora
Micky Jones Henry
Bobby Fite Dulcie Mae's Son
Paula Shaw Wulla Jean
Kenneth White Sheriff Jack Roy
Ted Gehring Sheriff Chapman
Wayne Heffley TV Station Manager
Lee Ritchey Governor's Aide
Alice Drummond Governor's Secretary
Randy Bennett Privates Boy
John Edson Male Reporter
Robert Ginnaven Male Reporter
Suzi McLaughlin Female Reporter

Technical Credits
Colin Higgins Director,Screenwriter
Robert L. Boyett Producer
Robert F. Boyle Production Designer
David Bretherton Editor
Nicholas Eliopoulous Editor
William A. Fraker Cinematographer
Carol Hall Score Composer,Songwriter
Walter A. Hannemann Editor
Pembroke J. Herring Editor
Jack Hofstra Editor
William B. Kaplan Sound/Sound Designer
Larry L. King Original Story,Screenwriter
Peter Macgregor-Scott Co-producer
Peter Masterson Original Story,Screenwriter
Edward K. Milkis Producer
Thomas L. Miller Producer
Norman Newberry Production Designer
Arthur Jeph Parker Set Decoration/Design
Dolly Parton Songwriter
Frank Richwood Production Designer
Jack Frost Sanders Asst. Director
Tony Stevens Choreography
Theadora Van Runkle Costumes/Costume Designer
Albert J. Whitlock Special Effects
Patrick Williams Score Composer,Songwriter

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. "20 Fans"
2. Main Titles
3. "A Lil' Ole Bitty Pissant Country Place"
4. "Sneakin' Around"
5. A T.V. Expose'
6. "Texas Has a Whorehouse In It"
7. On the News
8. Close It Down
9. "The Aggie Song"
10. A Ballgown Dance
11. Trouble
12. Public Opinion
13. "The Sidestep"
14. Bad News
15. "Hard Candy Christmas"
16. "I Will Always Love You"
17. A Texas Legend
18. End Titles

Customer Reviews