The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution

The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution

Kathleen Cleaver
Director: Stanley Nelson Cast: Kathleen Cleaver
Kathleen Cleaver
, Elaine Brown
Elaine Brown
, Emory Douglas
Emory Douglas
Stanley Nelson

DVD (Wide Screen)

$22.74 $24.99 Save 9% Current price is $22.74, Original price is $24.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Seven years in the making, this documentary tells the story of the revolutionary black organization, Black Panther Party, by combining archival footage and interviews with living members and FBI agents. This film is the first of a three-part series of documentary films about African-American history. Written and directed by Stanley Nelson Jr.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/16/2016
UPC: 0841887026826
Original Release: 2015
Source: Pbs (Direct)
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 2:00:00
Sales rank: 28,011

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Kathleen Cleaver Participant
Elaine Brown Participant
Emory Douglas Participant
Elbert "Big Man" Howard Participant
Jamal Joseph Participant
Clayborne Carson Participant
Tarika Lewis Participant
Rita Williams-Garcia Participant
Sherwin Forte Participant
Wayne Pharr Participant
Roland Freeman Participant
Ronald Freeman Participant
Flores Forbes Participant
Landon Williams Participant
Mohammed Mubarek Participant
Jeff Haas Participant
Dennis Cunningham Participant
Yohuru Williams Participant
Jeffrey Ogbar Participant
Donna Murch Participant
Scot Brown Participant

Technical Credits
Stanley Nelson Director,Screenwriter
Sam Aleshinloye Producer
Rick Butler Cinematographer
Laurens Grant Producer
Nicole London Associate Producer
Tom Phillips Score Composer
Antonio Rossi Cinematographer
Molly Schwartz Animator
J.T. Takagi Sound/Sound Designer
Aljernon Tunsil Editor
Garry Waller Animator

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution
1. Chapter 1 [11:25]
2. Chapter 2 [6:25]
3. Chapter 3 [10:53]
4. Chapter 4 [10:24]
5. Chapter 5 [10:07]
6. Chapter 6 [10:58]
7. Chapter 7 [11:00]
8. Chapter 8 [17:14]
9. Chapter 9 [10:49]
10. Chapter 10 [12:27]
11. Chapter 11 [2:30]
12. Chapter 12 [:05]

Customer Reviews