The Canterville Ghost

The Canterville Ghost

Patrick Stewart
Director: Sydney Macartney Cast: Patrick Stewart
Patrick Stewart
, Neve Campbell
Neve Campbell
, Joan Sims
Joan Sims
Sydney Macartney


$13.64 $14.99 Save 9% Current price is $13.64, Original price is $14.99. You Save 9%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This modern TV-movie update of the Oscar Wilde tale is noteworthy for a grandiose performance by Patrick Stewart as the melancholy spectre of Sir Simon Canterville, doomed to wander the corridors of his vast estate for the past four centuries in guilt and despair over his wife's suicide. Stewart first makes himself known to an intelligent, angst-ridden teenager (Neve Campbell), who spends much of the film's runtime trying to convince her father of Simon's existence. Failing this, she changes tactics, searching instead for a way of putting his weary soul to rest. Despite its apparent production flaws -- particularly the staid, movie-of-the-week feel -- this is still worth a look thanks to enjoyable performances from Stewart and Campbell, both of whom seem to relish their roles. This film was features on the Wonderworks, family TV series.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/01/2011
UPC: 0883476031347
Original Release: 1996
Rating: PG
Source: Rhi Entertainment
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:32:00
Sales rank: 7,515

Special Features

Closed Caption

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Patrick Stewart Sir Simon de Canterville
Neve Campbell Ginny Otis
Joan Sims Mrs. Umney
Donald Sinden Mr. Umney
Cherie Lunghi Lucille Otis
Ed Wiley Hiram Otis
Leslie Phillips Actor
Ciaran Fitzgerald Adam Otis

Technical Credits
Sydney Macartney Director
Robert Benedetti Producer,Screenwriter
Dennis C. Lewiston Cinematographer
David Minty Art Director
Peter Mullins Production Designer
Jim Oliver Editor
Brent Shields Producer
Paul Martin Smith Editor
Patrick Stewart Co-producer
Ernest Troost Score Composer
Richard Welsh Executive Producer
Oscar Wilde Original Story

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Canterville Ghost
1. Travel Abroad [11:47]
2. History of Canterville [10:43]
3. Power of Suggestion [12:11]
4. Superstitions [8:32]
5. Rattle The Chain [10:19]
6. Blue Moon [11:35]
7. House Is Haunted [7:34]
8. I'm Not Afraid [7:41]
9. The Secret Door [10:10]
10. Credits [:56]

Customer Reviews