The House of Fear

The House of Fear

Basil Rathbone
Director: Roy William Neill Cast: Basil Rathbone
Basil Rathbone
, Nigel Bruce
Nigel Bruce
, Aubrey Mather
Aubrey Mather
Roy William Neill

DVD (Black & White)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce reprise their classic roles as Sherlock Holmes and his partner Dr. Watson in this installment from Universal's long-running series, which gets a simple but adequate presentation on DVD. Sherlock Holmes: The House of Fear (based on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's The Adventures of the Five Orange Pips) has been transferred to disc from a newly restored 35mm print, and is presented in the original full-frame aspect ratio of 1.33:1 with the original screen logos and credits. The audio is mastered in Dolby Digital Stereo; the dialogue is in English, with no multiple language options or bonus materials included, though the quality of the visual presentation will certainly please fans of the series.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/25/2003
UPC: 0030306754192
Original Release: 1945
Rating: NR
Source: Mpi Home Video
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:09:00
Sales rank: 40,836

Special Features

[None specified]

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Basil Rathbone Sherlock Holmes
Nigel Bruce Dr. Watson
Aubrey Mather Alistair
Dennis Hoey Insp. Lestrade
Paul Cavanagh Simon Merrivale
Harry Cording Cap. John Simpson
Sally Shepherd Mrs. Monteith
Gavin Muir Chalmers
Florette Hillier Alison MacGregor
David Clyde Alex MacGregor
Cyril Delevanti Stanley Raeburn
Doris Lloyd Bessie
Holmes Herbert Alan Cosgrave
Wilson Benge Guy Davis
Hobart Cavanaugh Actor
Alec Craig Angus
Leslie Denison Sgt. Bleeker
Richard Alexander Ralph King

Technical Credits
Roy William Neill Director,Producer
Bernard B. Brown Sound/Sound Designer
Roy Chanslor Screenwriter
Russell A. Gausman Set Decoration/Design
Saul A. Goodkind Editor
John B. Goodman Art Director
Eugène Lourié Art Director
Virgil E. Miller Cinematographer
Edward Ray Robinson Set Decoration/Design
Hans J. Salter Score Composer
Paul Sawtell Musical Direction/Supervision
Melville Shyer Asst. Director

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Opening
2. The Good Comrades
3. Distinguished Visitor
4. The Five Orange Pips
5. A Poisonous Atmosphere
6. A Long Night's Vigil
7. "Quite a Knotty Problem"
8. Lestrade Takes Charge
9. "No Man Goes Whole to His Grave
10. Watson Investigates
11. No Ghosts Need Apply
12. The Smuggler's Cave
13. "Our Long and Happy Association"
14. End Credits

Customer Reviews