The Joe Louis Story

The Joe Louis Story

Coley Wallace
Director: Robert Gordon Cast: Coley Wallace
Coley Wallace
, Paul Stewart
Paul Stewart
, Hilda Simms
Hilda Simms
Robert Gordon

DVD (Black & White)

$9.09 $9.99 Save 9% Current price is $9.09, Original price is $9.99. You Save 9%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Coley Wallace plays the title role in The Joe Louis Story. Told in flashback, the film recounts the pugilistic career of "the Brown Bomber" from the early 1930s to his misguided comeback attempt opposite Rocky Marciano in 1951. The film's high point is Louis' defeat of Germany's Max Schmeling; its low point (dramatically, not quality-wise) is the breakup of Louis's marriage. Evidently for legal reasons, most of the character names in the film are fictional. Many of the fight scenes are culled from footage of the real Louis in action. Though the "race" angle in The Joe Louis Story is downplayed, Louis is treated on an equal par with the white characters, which resulted in the film being banned in certain Southern regions back in 1953.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/01/2019
UPC: 0825452535647
Original Release: 1953
Rating: NR
Source: Team Marketing
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:29:00
Sales rank: 52,716

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Coley Wallace Joe Louis
Paul Stewart Tad McGeehan
Hilda Simms Marva Louis
James Edwards Chappie Blackburn
John Marley Mannie Seamon
Dotts Johnson Julian Black
Evelyn Ellis Mrs. Barrow
Carl Rocky Latimer Arthur Pine
John Marriott Sam Langford
P. Jay Sidney Handler
Isaac Jones Johnny Kingston
Royal Beal Mike Jacobs
Ruby Goldstein Himself
Ossie Davis Actor
Anita Ellis Actor
Norman Rose Actor
Ralph Stantley Actor
Buddy Thorpe Max Schmeling

Technical Credits
Robert Gordon Director
George Bassman Score Composer
Joseph Brun Cinematographer
Dave Kummins Editor
Stirling Silliphant Producer
Robert Sylvester Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Joe Louis Story
1. Chapter 1
2. Chapter 2
3. Chapter 3
4. Chapter 4
5. Chapter 5
6. Chapter 6
7. Chapter 7
8. Chapter 8
9. Chapter 9
10. Chapter 10
11. Chapter 11
12. Chapter 12
13. Chapter 13
14. Chapter 14
15. Chapter 15
16. Chapter 16
17. Chapter 17
18. Chapter 18
19. Chapter 19
20. Chapter 20
21. Chapter 21
22. Chapter 22
23. Chapter 23
24. Chapter 24
25. Chapter 25
26. Chapter 26
27. Chapter 27
28. Chapter 28
29. Chapter 29
30. Chapter 30

Customer Reviews