The Law and the Lady

The Law and the Lady

Greer Garson
Director: Edwin H. Knopf Cast: Greer Garson
Greer Garson
, Michael Wilding
Michael Wilding
, Fernando Lamas
Fernando Lamas
Edwin H. Knopf


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, April 14


The Law and the Lady is the third film version of the venerable Frederick Lonsdale stage play The Last of Mrs. Cheyney. Greer Garson follows in the footsteps of Norma Shearer and Joan Crawford as a beautiful confidence trickster, working in concert with a suave jewel thief (Michael Wilding). Jane Hoskins (Garson) inveigles herself into the household of San Francisco dowager Warton (Marjorie Main), where she and her accomplice intend to take their feisty hostess for everything she's got. Thanks to censorial intervention, many of the sharper satirical edges of the Lonsdale original have been dulled by sentiment and pathos. Still, any film that offers Greer Garson as a not-so-nice lady is well worth having.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/03/2014
UPC: 0883316635865
Original Release: 1951
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Time: 1:44:00
Sales rank: 36,752

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Greer Garson Jane Hoskins
Michael Wilding Nigel Duxbury,Lord Minden
Fernando Lamas Juan Dinas
Marjorie Main Mrs. Wortin
Hayden Rorke Tracy Collins
Ralph Dumke James H. Caighn
Rhys Williams Inspector McGraw
Phyllis Stanley Lady Minden
Natalie Schafer Pamela Femberson
Spencer Chan Servant
André Charlot Maitre d'Hotel
John Eldredge Assistant Manager
Betty Farrington Mrs. Belpayasa
Bess Flowers Mrs. Bruno Thayar
Margalo Gillmore Cora Caighn
Richard Hale Sheriff
Holmes Herbert English Colonel
Stuart Holmes Mr. Bruno Thayar
Soledad Jiminez Princess Margarita
Stanley Logan Sir Roland Epping
Matt Moore Sen. Scholmm
Anna Q. Nilsson Mrs. Scholmm
Lalo Rios Fanchito
Victor Sen Yung Chinese Manager

Technical Credits
Edwin H. Knopf Director,Producer
Daniel B. Cathcart Art Director
Carmen Dragon Score Composer
George Folsey Cinematographer
Cedric Gibbons Art Director
William B. Gulick Editor
James Newcom Editor
Leonard Spigelgass Screenwriter
Karl Tunberg Screenwriter

Customer Reviews