The Lonely Trail

The Lonely Trail

John Wayne
Director: Joseph Kane Cast: John Wayne
John Wayne
, Ann Rutherford
Ann Rutherford
, Cy Kendall
Cy Kendall
Joseph Kane


$18.39 $19.99 Save 8% Current price is $18.39, Original price is $19.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Lonely Trail, directed by Joseph Kane, stars John Wayne as veteran Union officer John Ashley. Ashley (Wayne), upon his return to his hometown in Texas, finds his presence unwanted by his former neighbors, who have all sided with the Confederacy. Law and order is being maintained by the smooth-talking Benedict Holden's (Cy Kendall) armed troopers. Though initially duped by the seedy northerner, Ashley realizes that Holden (Kendall) is merely a carpetbagger who, without the knowledge of the governor, is killing, stealing, and taxing the local ranchers out of their property under the pretense of state authority. In an attempt to thwart Holden's continuous betrayal of the Texas citizens, Ashley himself enlists in Holden's troops. The Lonely Trail also features actors Sam Flint, Bob Kortman, and actress Anne Rutherford. ~ Tracie Cooper

Product Details

Release Date: 04/30/2013
UPC: 0887090062909
Original Release: 1936
Rating: NR
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 0:56:00
Sales rank: 22,954

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Wayne John Ashley
Ann Rutherford Virginia Terry
Cy Kendall Benedict Holden
Bob Kortman Capt. Hays
Etta McDaniel Mammy
Sam Flint Governor
Jim Toney Jed Calicutt
Yakima Canutt Horell
Lloyd Ingraham Tucker
James Marcus Mayor
Rodney Hildebrand Captain of Cavalry
Eugene Jackson Dancer
Floyd Shackelford Armstrong
Jack Kirk Trooper (uncredited)
Bud Pope Trooper (uncredited)
Tex Phelps Trooper (uncredited)
Tracy Layne Trooper (uncredited)
Bob Burns Rancher
Horace B. Carpenter Actor
Oscar Gahan Actor
Francis Walker Actor
Clifton Young Actor
Fred "Snowflake" Toones Snowflake
Lafe [Lafayette] McKee Old-timer (uncredited)
Dennis Moore Dick Terry

Technical Credits
Joseph Kane Director
Nat Levine Producer
Bernard McConville Original Story,Screenwriter
Jack Natteford Screenwriter
William Nobles Cinematographer
Les Orlebeck Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Lonely Trail
1. Chapter I [5:40]
2. Chapter II [5:21]
3. Chapter III [6:45]
4. Chapter IV [8:24]
5. Chapter V [10:02]
6. Chapter VI [8:43]
7. Chapter VII [4:19]
8. Chapter VIII [7:02]

Customer Reviews